Page start

Content

Museums of the 21st Century

The Lentos Art Museum Linz is the only stop in Austria for the international touring exhibition on museum architecture of the 21st century.

Museums of the 21st Century: Ideas - Projects - Buildings

The exhibition presents 27 of the interesting and visionary museum buildings from four continents (Europe, America, Asia, Australia), which have been built or are under construction or in planning from 2000 to 2010. Most of the exhibited projects are art museums, however there are also museums of archeology, ethnology, history and the automobile, such as the Mercedes Benz Museum in Stuttgart or the BMW Museum in Munich.

The Art Centre Basel has arranged the presentation of each project in close cooperation with the architects. The exhibitions thus also displays the characteristics and personal styles of various star architects.

All the projects are presented on the basis of models, photographs, plans, sketches and film material. The exhibition is supplemented by a display of the situation of museum projects in Linz in the 21st century: Lentos Art Museum Linz (Weber + Hofer AG, Zürich), extension of the AEC (TREUSCH architecture, Vienna) and the new south wing of the Linz Castle (HoG architektur, Graz).

A multifaceted supplementary program accompanies this show with tours and lectures by architects, a sundays at 11, and workshops focusing on architecture. Architecture books from the Lentos Library and films on exhibited projects and participating architects invite visitors to explore in-depth information directly in the exhibition.

Exhibition Architecture: caramel architekten zt gmbh (Vienna,Linz)

A catalogue is published by Prestel Verlag, Munich, containing texts and illustrations relating to the exhibition. The catalogue is available at the Lentos Museum Shop (EUR 28,-).

An exhibition by the ART CENTRE BASEL
www.artcentrebasel.com
Idea and Concept: Suzanne Greub and Thierry Greub, Art Centre Basel
Realization: Christine Gisi, Art Centre Basel

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:

Museen im 21. Jahrhundert. Ideen, Projekte, Bauten

Das Lentos Kunstmuseum Linz zeigt als einzige österreichische Station die internationale Tourneeausstellung zur Museumsarchitektur des
21. Jahrhunderts.

Die Ausstellung präsentiert 27 der interessantesten und zukunftsträchtigsten Museumsbauten aus vier Kontinenten (Europa, Amerika, Asien, Australien), die in der Zeitspanne von 2000 bis 2010 entstanden, entstehen oder geplant sind. Den größten Anteil der ausgestellten Projekte bilden Kunstmuseen. Überdies sind Museen zu Archäologie, Ethnologie, Geschichte und zu Automobilen wie etwa das Mercedes Benz Museum in Stuttgart oder das BMW Museum in München vertreten.

Das Art Centre Basel hat die Präsentation jedes Projekts in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Architekten gestaltet. Die Ausstellung weist somit Charakteristika und Handschriften verschiedener Stararchitekten auf.

Alle Projekte werden anhand von Modellen, Fotografien, Plänen, Skizzen sowie Filmmaterial veranschaulicht. Ergänzend zur Ausstellung wird die Situation der Linzer Museumsprojekte im 21. Jahrhundert gezeigt: Lentos Kunstmuseum Linz (Weber + Hofer AG, Zürich), Erweiterung des AEC (TREUSCH architecture, Wien) und der Neubau des Südflügels des Linzer Schlosses (HoG architektur, Graz).

Ein abwechslungsreiches Begleitprogramm mit Architektenvorträgen und -führungen, ein sonntags um 11 sowie Workshops mit Schwerpunkt Architektur wird diese Schau ergänzen. Architekturbücher aus der Lentos Bibliothek sowie Filme zu ausgestellten Projekten und beteiligten ArchitektInnen laden zur vertiefenden Information unmittelbar in der Ausstellung ein.

Ausstellungsarchitektur: caramel architekten zt gmbh (Wien,Linz)

Ein Katalog ist im Prestel Verlag, München, erschienen; er enthält Texte und Abbildungen zur Schau und ist im Museumsshop des Lentos erhältlich (EUR 28,-).

Eine Ausstellung des ART CENTRE BASEL
www.artcentrebasel.com
Idee und Konzept: Suzanne Greub und Thierry Greub, Art Centre Basel
Realisation: Christine Gisi, Art Centre Basel

Downloadbereich Museen im 21. Jahrhundert. Ideen, Projekte, Bauten

Material zur Ausstellung

Material zur Ausstellung

PDF - (102,79 KB) (neues Fenster)
Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)