Page start

Content

Avant-Garde and Tradition

With a representative selection of highlights from the collection, the former New Gallery introduces a new era in the Lentos Museum until 23 November 2003.

"Avant-Garde and Tradition", as the comprehensive survey exhibition is entitled, provides insight into the valuable holdings of the internationally renowned museum of modern art.

250 works by Karel Appel, Dietmar Brehm, Tony Cragg, Oskar Kokoschka, Alfred Kubin, Maria Lassnig, Markus Lüpertz, Jürgen Messensee, Markus Prachensky, Egon Schiele, Sean Scully, Jan Voss to Andy Warhol are presented on the upper floor until November 9th.
At the same time, "Avant-Garde and Tradition" is also to be understood as a confrontation of art works and periods of style. Visitors have a unique opportunity to wander through 150 years of art in twelve rooms on one floor.

In addition to two monograph presentations, which are dedicated to Herbert Bayer and Herrmann Nitsch, the exhibition deals with the themes portrait, landscape, expression and gesture, the principle of the Informel, proposals for paradise and pluralism in the art of the 20th century.

A 472-page collection catalogue is published for the opening. The soft-cover edition is available for 28 Euro, hardcover for 38 Euro.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:

Avantgarde und Tradition

Mit einer repräsentativen Auswahl an Höhepunkten aus der Sammlung leitet die ehemalige Neue Galerie ihre Ära im Lentos noch bis 23. November 2003 ein

"Avantgarde und Tradition" so der Titel der umfassenden Überblicksschau, die Einblicke in die wertvollen Bestände des international renommierten Museums moderner Kunst gibt.

200 Werke von Karel Appel, Dietmar Brehm, Tony Cragg, Oskar Kokoschka, Alfred Kubin, Maria Lassnig, Markus Lüpertz, Jürgen Messensee, Markus Prachensky, Egon Schiele, Sean Scully, Jan Voss bis zu Andy Warhol werden im Obergeschoß bis 9. November präsentiert.
"Avantgarde und Tradition" ist gleichermaßen als Konfrontation von Kunstwerken und Stilperioden zu verstehen. Den BesucherInnen bietet sich die einzigartige Möglichkeit, auf einer Etage in zwölf Räumen 150 Jahre Kunst zu durchwandern.

Neben zwei monografischen Präsentationen, die Herbert Bayer (1900-1986) und Hermann Nitsch gelten, werden die Themen Porträt, Landschaft, Expression und Gestus, das Prinzip Informel, Entwürfe für das Paradies sowie der Pluralismus in der Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts behandelt.

Zur Eröffnung erscheint ein 472 Seiten umfassender Sammlungskatalog, der broschiert um 28 Euro und gebunden um 38 Euro erhältlich ist.

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)