Page start

Stella Rollig in conversation with Erwin Wurm

Sunday, 11 March 2012

His sense of humour, informal manner and potential for aesthetic innovation have made Erwin Wurm a shooting star in the international art world. Born in Styria in 1954, Wurm, one of Austria's most sought-after artists, lives and works today in Vienna and in the Waldviertel. In 2006 he upended a detached house on to Vienna's Mumok - the exhibition was a smash hit. More recently he caused amazement among tourists in Venice during the Biennale 2011 with his Narrow House on the Canal Grande, and the Bass Museum in Miami staged a widely acclaimed solo show during the Art Basel Miami Beach.

Erwin Wurm's success is at least partly due to the unique skill with which he distils pertinent commentaries on contemporary lifeworlds from the legacy left by Dada and conceptual art. Combining the world view of an artist with uncanny psychological insight, he targets our ill-founded notions of individuality and, apparently without even trying to do so, has expanded and reformulated in an exemplary manner our ideas of what can be subsumed under the concept of work in contemporary art.

Erwin Wurm's Renault 25/1991 is on display at the exhibition CAR CULTURE (2 March to 4 July 2012).

sundays at 11

The LENTOS features sundays at 11, a series of talks, for which the LENTOS invites well-known figures from the world of art and culture.
With LENTOS’s artistic director, Hemma Schmutz, in the chair, they discuss their activities and experiences in and with the world of art.
Not only do audiences get a chance to follow the discussion at close quarters, they are also invited to join in; in fact, contributions from the floor have become an indispensable part of the format Before the Sunday morning talk an expanded Viennese breakfast is served as an additional feature (which you are of course free to skip if you want to).

Click here for our previous guest list

An expanded Viennes breakfast is served from 10 a.m.; the beginning of the conversation is scheduled for 11 p.m.
 
Registration
Please register by Thursday before the talk under T +43 732 7070 3601 or claudia.kern@lentos.at.

Admission
Lecture and breakfast € 14,-
Lecture only € 4,-

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Stella Rollig im Gespräch mit Erwin Wurm

Sonntag, 11. März 2012

Mit Witz, Respektlosigkeit und ästhetischer Innovationskraft hat Erwin Wurm die internationale Kunstwelt erobert. Der 1954 geborene Steirer, der heute in Wien und im Waldviertel lebt, ist einer der meistgefragten österreichischen Künstler. 2006  ließ er ein Einfamilienhaus auf das Mumok in Wien stürzen - die Ausstellung wurde zum Publikumshit. Zuletzt verblüffte er venezianische TouristInnen während der Biennale 2011 mit seinem Narrow House am Canal Grande, und das Bass Museum in Miami eröffnete während der Art Basel Miami Beach eine viel beachtete Soloschau.

Der Erfolg von Erwin Wurm beruht auf seiner einzigartigen Fähigkeit, das Erbe von Dada und Konzeptkunst für treffsichere Kommentare zu zeitgenössischen Lebenswelten zu nutzen. Er zielt nicht nur ins Mark der labilen Vorstellung von Individualismus und zeigt sich darin als großer Psychologe, sondern er hat quasi nebenbei auch den Werkbegriff der zeitgenössischen Kunst wesentlich umgedeutet und erweitert.

In der Ausstellung CAR CULTURE (2. März bis 4. Juli 2012) ist Erwin Wurm mit der Arbeit Renault 25/1991 vertreten.


Hinweis: Am selben Tag findet um 16 Uhr eine Führung durch die Ausstellung CAR CULTURE. Das Auto als Skulptur statt.

sonntags um 11

Das LENTOS lädt regelmäßig Persönlichkeiten aus Kunst und Kultur zur Gesprächsreihe sonntags um 11.

Vor Publikum spricht LENTOS Direktorin Hemma Schmutz mit geladenen Gästen über deren Tätigkeiten und Erfahrungen in und mit der Welt der Kunst.
Von KollegInnen aus anderen Institutionen, über KünstlerInnen, ArchitekturkritikerInnen bis hin zu hochrangigen PolitikerInnen, spannt sich der Bogen unterschiedlichster spannender GesprächpartnerInnen. Fragen und Dikussionsbeiträge aus dem Publikum sind stets ein fixer Bestandteil der Gespräche.

Zur bisherigen Gästeliste

Vor den Sonntagsgesprächen wird ein erweitertes
Wiener Frühstück serviert.
Frühstücksbeginn 10 Uhr, Gesprächsbeginn 11 Uhr, Ende 12.30 Uhr

Anmeldung
jeweils bis Donnerstag vor Gesprächstermin erbeten
unter T 0732 7070 3600 oder claudia.kern@lentos.at

Eintritt
€ 14 (inkl. Museumsbesuch, Vortrag und Frühstück)
Nur Gespräch € 4

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.