Page start

Stella Rollig in conversation with Gerhard Haderer

Sunday, 3 April 2011

In 2011 the multiple award-winning cartoonist Gerhard Haderer celebrates his 60th birthday. Exhibitions in Linz, Krems, Villach, Vienna and Frankfurt / Main showcase the artist's work, outlook and effect. Kick-off is at the LENTOS in Haderer's birthplace, Linz, where he lives and works.
As part of the NEXTCOMIC Festival, the LENTOS will be showing a selection of cartoon originals curated by Achim Frenz, the director of caricatura museum frankfurt.

Biography
Born 1951 in Leonding, lives in Linz
1965–1969 Fachschule für Gebrauchs- und Werbegrafik, Linz
2001 Deutscher Karikaturenpreis
2006 Karikaturpreis der deutschen Anwaltschaft
2008 Goldenes Verdienstzeichen des Landes Wien

Starting out as a freelance graphic artist, draughtsman and illustrator for PR agencies, Haderer switched to satirical drawing in 1984 and has worked as a cartoonist since 1985. His drawings, usually signed "Hades", appear regularly in newspapers and magazines in German speaking countries (since 1985 in "profil", since 1991 in "stern", 1992-1996 in "Oberösterreichische Nachrichten" as well as in "Wiener", "Geo", "Trend").
From 1997 to 2000 and again since 2008, this time on a monthly basis, Haderer has published the comic book "Moff" , in which he lampoons what he sees as aberrations in day-to-day social and political developments. In addition to his cartoons Haderer has also made an international name for himself as author in the genre of the pictorial narrative, which in Austria has only a small, if devoted, following. His cartoon book, "Das Leben des Jesus", sparked a high-profile public controversy in 2002 about the propriety of satirical takes on religious content. Haderer himself was found guilty of blasphemy in Athens in 2005 but acquitted on appeal.
The fact that Haderer's roots are in the aesthetics of PR graphics is reflected in technical aspects of his cartoons. They are remarkable for their exact picture composition; the optimization of the effects of colours through the use of cold-warm contrasts (Haderer prefers acrylic ink and mixes primary colours to produce the shades her requires); concentration on light and perspectival aids to guide perception result in high-gloss drawings, whose pictorial content provides a sarcastic commentary on day-to-day events, be it in the fields of everyday life, politics, religion, tourism, sports or society. Haderer often limits himself to mere figures without embedding them in any explicit activity.
Since 2006 Haderer has also been supplying puppets to Maschek, the satirical troupe with a cult following, for their Punch-and-Judy cabaret that takes the mickey out of Austrian politicians ("At home with the Schüssels" 2006, "At home with Gusenbauer" 2007, " At home with Faymann" 2009).

sundays at 11

The LENTOS features sundays at 11, a series of talks, for which the LENTOS invites well-known figures from the world of art and culture.
With LENTOS’s artistic director, Hemma Schmutz, in the chair, they discuss their activities and experiences in and with the world of art.
Not only do audiences get a chance to follow the discussion at close quarters, they are also invited to join in; in fact, contributions from the floor have become an indispensable part of the format Before the Sunday morning talk an expanded Viennese breakfast is served as an additional feature (which you are of course free to skip if you want to).

Click here for our previous guest list

An expanded Viennes breakfast is served from 10 a.m.; the beginning of the conversation is scheduled for 11 p.m.
 
Registration
Please register by Thursday before the talk under T +43 732 7070 3601 or claudia.kern@lentos.at.

Admission
Lecture and breakfast € 14,-
Lecture only € 4,-

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Stella Rollig im Gespräch mit Gerhard Haderer

Sonntag, 3. April 2011

Im Jahr 2011 feiert der mehrfach ausgezeichnete Cartoonist seinen 60. Geburtstag. Ausstellungen in den Städten Linz, Krems, Villach, Wien und Frankfurt würdigen das
Werk, Wesen und Wirken des Künstlers. Den Beginn macht das LENTOS in Haderers Geburtstadt Linz, wo er lebt und arbeitet.
Im Rahmen des NEXTCOMIC Festivals wird eine von Achim Frenz, dem Leiter des caricatura museum frankfurt, kuratierte Auswahl von Original-Cartoons gezeigt.


Biografie
geb. 1951 in Leonding, lebt in Linz
1965–1969 Studium an der Fachschule für Gebrauchs- und Werbegrafik in Linz
2001 Deutscher Karikaturenpreis
2006 Karikaturpreis der deutschen Anwaltschaft
2008 Goldenes Verdienstzeichen des Landes Wien

Zunächst selbstständiger Grafiker, Zeichner und Illustrator für Werbeagenturen, wechselt Haderer 1984 zur satirischen Zeichnung und arbeitet seit 1985 als Karikaturist.  Seine Zeichnungen, zumeist mit "Hades" signiert, erscheinen regelmäßig in Zeitungen und Magazinen des deutschsprachigen Raumes (seit 1985 im "profil", seit 1991 im "stern", 1992–1996 in den "Oberösterreichischen Nachrichten", weiters in "Wiener", "Geo", "Trend").
Von 1997–2000 und seit 2008 monatlich, erscheint das Comic-Heft "Moff", in dem Haderer das aktuelle gesellschaftspolitische Zeitgeschehen persifliert. Neben seinen Zeichnungen ist Haderer international auch als Buchautor im Genre der Bilderzählung (das in Österreich wenig beachtet wird) bekannt: Sein Cartoon-Band, "Das Leben des Jesus", führt 2002 zu einer öffentlich geführten Diskussion über die Legitimität humoristischer Darstellungen religiöser Inhalte, Haderer selbst wird 2005 in Athen wegen Blasphemie verurteilt, in zweiter Instanz jedoch freigesprochen.
Die anfängliche Laufbahn in der Werbegrafik spiegelt sich in seinen Karikaturen durch Übernahme deren Techniken wider: Exakter Bildaufbau, Optimierung der Farbeffekte durch Einsatz von Kalt-Warm-Kontrasten (wobei Haderer bevorzugt Acryltusche verwendet und die Farbtöne aus den Primärfarben mischt), gezielte Licht- und  Blickführung erzeugen Hochglanzzeichnungen, deren Bildinhalte tagesaktuelle Ereignisse, Alltagsgeschehen, Politik, Religion, Tourismus, Sport und Gesellschaft sarkastisch festhalten. Oftmals beschränkt sich Haderer auf die bloße Wiedergabe seiner Figuren, anstatt diese in Handlungen zu zeigen.
Seit 2006 liefert Haderer der österreichischen Kulttruppe Maschek Puppenentwürfe für deren als Kasperltheater inszenierten Kabarettstücke über österreichische.  PolitikerInnen ("Bei Schüssels" 2006, "Beim Gusenbauer" 2007, "Bei Faymann" 2009).

sonntags um 11

Das LENTOS lädt regelmäßig Persönlichkeiten aus Kunst und Kultur zur Gesprächsreihe sonntags um 11.

Vor Publikum spricht LENTOS Direktorin Hemma Schmutz mit geladenen Gästen über deren Tätigkeiten und Erfahrungen in und mit der Welt der Kunst.
Von KollegInnen aus anderen Institutionen, über KünstlerInnen, ArchitekturkritikerInnen bis hin zu hochrangigen PolitikerInnen, spannt sich der Bogen unterschiedlichster spannender GesprächpartnerInnen. Fragen und Dikussionsbeiträge aus dem Publikum sind stets ein fixer Bestandteil der Gespräche.

Zur bisherigen Gästeliste

Vor den Sonntagsgesprächen wird ein erweitertes
Wiener Frühstück serviert.
Frühstücksbeginn 10 Uhr, Gesprächsbeginn 11 Uhr, Ende 12.30 Uhr

Anmeldung
jeweils bis Donnerstag vor Gesprächstermin erbeten
unter T 0732 7070 3600 oder claudia.kern@lentos.at

Eintritt
€ 14 (inkl. Museumsbesuch, Vortrag und Frühstück)
Nur Gespräch € 4

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.