Page start

Content

Stella Rollig in conversation with Deborah Sengl and Anselm Glück

Sunday, 1 March 2009


ON DISPLAY

Almost exactly a third of the art works in the exhibition Best of Austria. An Art Collection are from contemporary artists. In an exhibition in which thirty Austrian museums and collections each present themselves with three loaned works of their choice, this may be seen as evidence: the acquisition of contemporary art works is not only the greatest challenge and risk, but also the pride, pleasure and passion of the directors, whose central tasks include the expansion of the collections.

The artists represented here find themselves on display in the Capital of Culture Linz09, on the velvet pedestal, so to speak, of the "ideal collection" of selected "top works". This is an opportunity now to question artists. Sales are necessary, but which purchases provide the greatest satisfaction? Which exhibitions? Is the museum still the place for the work most aspired to? In which contexts do artists prefer to see their own work placed, which not?

The staging of Best of Austria with exhibits from eight centuries creates an unusual atmosphere of visual stimulation. How does this affect the spirits of the participating artists?

Best of Austria tells a story of the pleasure of looking and stimulates a debate about the standards and criteria of "best of". Is it the most expensive, the most famous, the most widely publicized pictures and objects that are representatively displayed in Linz? Are they the favorites of directors and heads of collections, who want to bring unknown treasures to light? The answers are as different as the participating institutions. Art from eight centuries – all of them masterpieces.

Deborah Sengl, born 1974 in Vienna, lives in Vienna
Anselm Glück, born 1950 in Linz, lives in Vienna


Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:

Stella Rollig im Gespräch mit Deborah Sengl und Anselm Glück

Sonntag, 1. März 2009


IM SCHAUFENSTER

Ziemlich genau ein Drittel der Kunstwerke in der Ausstellung Best of Austria. Eine Kunstsammlung stammt von zeitgenössischen KünstlerInnen. In einer Ausstellung, in der sich dreißig österreichische Museen und Sammlungen mit je drei Leihgaben ihrer Wahl einstellen, mag dies belegen: Der Erwerb von Kunstwerken der Gegenwart ist nicht nur größte Herausforderung und Risiko, sondern auch Stolz, Lust und Leidenschaft der LeiterInnen, zu deren zentralen Aufgaben die Erweiterung der Sammlungen zählt.

Die vertretenen KünstlerInnen finden sich im Schaufenster der Kulturhauptstadt Linz09, gleichsam auf dem Samtpodest der "idealen Sammlung" auserwählter "Spitzenwerke". Hier nun Gelegenheit, KünstlerInnen zu vernehmen. Verkauf muss sein, doch welche Ankäufe machen die größte Freude? Welche Ausstellungen? Ist das Museum immer noch der meist angestrebte Ort fürs Werk? In welchen Zusammenhängen sieht man das eigene Werk gern platziert, in welchen lieber nicht?

Die Inszenierung von Best of Austria mit Exponaten aus acht Jahrhunderten schafft ein außergewöhnliches visuelles Reizklima. Wie schlägt sich dieses aufs Gemüt teilnehmender KünstlerInnen?

Best of Austria erzählt eine Geschichte der Schaulust und stößt eine Debatte über Maßstäbe und Kriterien von "Best of" an. Sind es die teuersten, die bekanntesten, die meist publizierten Bilder und Objekte, die stellvertretend in Linz gezeigt werden? Sind es die Favoriten von DirektorInnen und SammlungsleiterInnen, die unbekannte Schätze ins Licht stellen wollen? Die Antworten sind so unterschiedlich wie die teilnehmenden Institutionen. Kunst aus acht Jahrhunderten – Spitzenwerke allemal.

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.