Page start

Content

Stella Rollig in conversation with Klaus Albrecht Schröder

Sunday, 23 November 2008

The Museum as Medium

Have we thought enough about the museum as medium yet? This was the question posed by the arts studies scholar Hans Belting some time ago, and it would probably have to be answered with no.
At the same time, there is currently more being said and written about museums than almost ever before. Two contrary theses are up for debate.
The museum is in a crisis. Has this institution lost its original purpose in post-bourgeois society? Will the public museum be marginalized by the collections of private investors? Or is it true that the museum is a motor, a turnover motor with ever new records in the number of visitors, sponsors, media attention?

In conversation with Klaus Albrecht Schröder, the director of the Albertina Vienna, we will think about the medium. The museum as an instrument of communication: conveying which contents, how and for whom? To whom does it offer possibilities of identification, who remains excluded? How can old and contemporary art charge one another with meaning?
The experiences, strategies and goals of the museum expert Schröder will be addressed, as well as questions of criteria for success – and of his own very personal understanding of art.


Dr. Klaus Albrecht Schröder, born 1955 in Linz, studied art history and history at the University of Vienna. As director of the Art Forum Vienna, which he founded in 1985, from 1988 to 2000 he established an exhibition hall with groundbreaking presentations of an international character, which set important impulses for Vienna and became the most visited exhibition hall in Austria with 300,000 to 350,000 visitors every year.
From 1996 to the end of 1999 Schröder was appointed member of the board and managing director of the newly found Leopold Private Foundation: in this function he was responsible for the planning and building of the museum and for the preparation of the organigram, the personnel structure, and for the organization of setup and implementation. On 1 January 2000 Klaus Albrecht Schröder took up his position as manager and director of the Albertina. Since its reopening, the Albertina has positioned itself within the shortest period of time as the most frequently visited museum in Austria. The radical modernization reaching into all areas of the museum, the renovation of the classicist grand rooms, financed solely through private sponsorship, and the building extension of the Albertina from 230 qm to 2000 qm were the main goals. With an ambitious exhibition program covering five centuries of art history from Dürer, Michelangelo, Rembrandt and Rubens to Munch, Picasso, Egon Schiele and Gustav Klimt all the way to Baselitz, Alex Katz, Arnulf Rainer and Franz Gertsch, the Albertina was able to reach completely new segments of the population with an annual number of visitors between 550,000 and 850,000.


Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:

Stella Rollig im Gespräch mit Albertina-Direktor Klaus Albrecht Schröder

Sonntag, 23. November 2008

Das Museum als Medium

Haben wir schon genügend über das Museum als Medium nachgedacht? Die Frage stellte der Kunstwissenschafter Hans Belting vor einer Weile, und man muss sie wohl mit einem Nein beantworten.
Dabei wird gegenwärtig so viel über Museen gesagt und geschrieben wie selten zuvor. Zwei gegensätzliche Thesen stehen im Raum.
Das Museum steckt in der Krise. Ist dieser Institution in der post-bürgerlichen Gesellschaft ihr ursprünglicher Zweck abhanden gekommen? Wird das öffentliche Museum von den Sammlungen privater Investoren marginalisiert? Oder gilt: Das Museum als Motor, als Umsatzmotor mit immer neuen Rekorden an Besuchern, Sponsorenmitteln, medialer Aufmerksamkeit.

Im Gespräch mit Klaus Albrecht Schröder, dem Direktor der Wiener Albertina, soll über das Medium nachgedacht werden. Das Museum als Instrument der Vermittlung: welcher Inhalte, wie und für wen? Wem bietet es welche Möglichkeiten der Identifikation an, wer bleibt ausgeschlossen? Wie können alte und zeitgenössische Kunst einander mit Bedeutung aufladen?
Erfahrungen, Strategien und Ziele des Museumsfachmanns Schröders werden dabei ebenso zur Sprache kommen wie die Frage nach Erfolgskriterien – und die nach seinem ganz persönlichen Kunstbegriff.


Dr. Klaus Albrecht Schröder, 1955 in Linz geboren, studierte Kunstgeschichte und Geschichte an der Universität Wien. Als Direktor des von ihm 1985 gegründeten Kunstforums Wien etablierte er von 1988 bis 2000 eine Ausstellungshalle mit wegweisenden Präsentationen von internationalem Zuschnitt, die für Wien wichtige Impulse setzte und mit jährlich 300.000 bis 350.000 Besuchern Österreichs bestbesuchte Ausstellungshalle war.
Von 1996 bis Ende 1999 wurde Schröder zum Vorstandsmitglied und kaufmännischen Direktor der neu gegründeten Privatstiftung Leopold berufen: In dieser Funktion war er für die Planung und Errichtung des Museums sowie für die Erstellung des Organigramms, dem Aufbau der Personal-Struktur sowie Aufbau- und Ablauforganisation zuständig. Mit 1. Januar 2000 trat Klaus Albrecht Schröder als Geschäftsführer und Direktor der Albertina an. Seit der Wiedereröffnung positionierte sich die Albertina innerhalb kürzester Zeit als das meistbesuchte Museum Österreichs. Die tiefgreifende, alle Bereiche der Albertina betreffende Modernisierung des Museums, die Renovierung der klassizistischen Prunkräume, die allein aus privaten Sponsorenmitteln finanziert wurde, sowie die bauliche Erweiterung der Albertina von 230 qm auf 2000 qm waren die Hauptziele. Mit einem ambitionierten Ausstellungsprogramm, das 5 Jahrhunderte Kunstgeschichte von Dürer, Michelangelo, Rembrandt und Rubens über Munch, Picasso, Egon Schiele und Gustav Klimt bis zu Baselitz, Alex Katz, Arnulf Rainer und Franz Gertsch abdeckt, wurden völlig neue Bevölkerungsschichten und jährliche Besucherzahlen zwischen 550.000 und 850.000 Besuchern für die Albertina erschlossen.

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.