Page start

Content

Stella Rollig in conversation with Maribel Königer and Lois Renner

Sunday, 9 March 2008


Art and Art Criticism – A Relationship Gone Cold?

Does anyone still read art critiques? What significance does art criticism have for artists themselves? Are there critical reviews that hurt, are there judgments that can be learned from?

The impulse for this discussion came from the current exhibition Troublemakers (on display until 18 May 2008). This path through Austrian art history from the 1860s to the 1960s demonstrates that leading artists initially had to insist on their work against disparagement and aggression. Their adversaries were journalists and critics – hostile, merciless, arrogant. "Badly drawn", "coarsely sketched" were still the most harmless judgments. Critics raged as though berserk.

And today?
Art criticism seems to have lost its significance. The general diagnosis: binding standards for quality have been dropped; instead of competent judgments there is nothing but subjective impudence or marketing announcements. Yet at the same time, art magazines are flourishing, new titles are constantly appearing. What is going on? Reason enough to question the art journalist Maribel Königer and the artist Lois Renner about the relationship (crisis) between their guilds.


Lois Renner
Born 1961 in Salzburg/Austria. Lives and works in Vienna
Hochschule Mozarteum, Salzburg; Rheinische Kunstakademie, Düsseldorf
Msgr. Otto Mauer Prize
Professor for Artistic Photography at the Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung, Karlsruhe
Solo exhibitions (selected): Salzburger Kunstverein; Kunsthaus Bregenz; Landesgalerie am Oberösterreichischen Landesmuseum; Museum Abteiberg, Mönchengladbach; Kunsthalle Tübingen; Overbeck-Gesellschaft, Lübeck
Participation in group exhibitions at home and abroad.
http://www.loisrenner.com/


Maribel Königer
Art historian, author and journalist. Lives since 2001 in Vienna. Worked in the 1990s as art critic and freelancer for many German-speaking media and art magazines in Paris, including the Süddeutsche Zeitung, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Focus, Vogue, Kunstforum International, Springer, Kunst-Bulletin. 1996 to 1997 press officer for the documenta X in Kassel, 1997 to 2000 press officer for the Culture and Event Program, the Theme Part and the Worldwide Projects of the World Expo 2000 in Hannover.
2001 to 2006 PR work and director of the studio of Lois Renner. Since January 2007 head of communication for the ERSTE Foundation (http://www.erstestiftung.org/). Since 2005 President of the Austrian Section of the International Association of Art Critics AICA (http://www.aica.at/).

 

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:

Stella Rollig im Gespräch mit Maribel Königer und Lois Renner

Sonntag, 9. März 2008


Kunst und Kunstkritik – eine erkaltete Beziehung?

Liest noch irgend jemand Kunstkritiken? Welche Bedeutung hat die Kunstkritik für KünstlerInnen selbst? Gibt es Verrisse, die weh tun, gibt es Urteile, aus denen man lernt?

Die Anregung zu diesem Gespräch liefert die aktuelle Ausstellung Störenfriede (1.2. bis 18.5.2008). Dieser Parcours durch die österreichische Kunstgeschichte von den 1860er bis zu den 1960er Jahren führt vor Augen, dass maßgebliche Künstlerinnen und Künstler ihr Werk zunächst gegen Verunglimpfung und Aggression durchsetzen mussten. Ihre Widersacher waren Publizisten und Kritiker – feindselig, gnadenlos, überheblich. "Schlecht gezeichnet", "derb hingestrichen", das waren noch die harmlosesten Urteile. Kritiker wüteten wie die Berserker.

Und heute?
Kunstkritik scheint an Bedeutung einzubüßen. Die allgemeine Diagnose: Verbindliche Maßstäbe für Qualität sind abhanden gekommen, statt kompetenter Urteile nichts als subjektive Schnoddrigkeit oder Marketing-Verlautbarungen. Gleichzeitig florieren Kunstmagazine, laufend erscheinen neue Titel. Was ist los? Anlass, die Kunstpublizistin Maribel Königer und den Künstler Lois Renner über die Beziehung(skrise) ihrer Zünfte zu befragen.


Lois Renner
Geboren 1961 in Salzburg/Österreich. Lebt und arbeitet in Wien
Hochschule Mozarteum, Salzburg; Rheinische Kunstakademie, Düsseldorf
Msgr. Otto Mauer-Preis
Professur für Künstlerische Fotografie an der Staatlichen
Hochschule für Gestaltung, Karlsruhe
Einzelausstellungen (Auswahl): Salzburger Kunstverein; Kunsthaus Bregenz; Landesgalerie am Oberösterreichischen Landesmuseum; Museum Abteiberg, Mönchengladbach; Kunsthalle Tübingen; Overbeck-Gesellschaft, Lübeck
Teilnahme an Gruppenausstellungen im In- und Ausland.
http://www.loisrenner.com/


Maribel Königer
Kunsthistorikerin, Autorin und Journalistin. Lebt seit 2001 in Wien. In den 1990er Jahren als Kunstkritikerin und freie Mitarbeiterin vieler deutschsprachiger Medien und Kunstmagazine in Paris tätig, darunter die Süddeutsche Zeitung, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Focus, Vogue, Kunstforum International, Springer, Kunst-Bulletin. 1996 bis 1997 Pressesprecherin der documenta X in Kassel, 1997 bis 2000 Pressesprecherin des Kultur- und Ereignisprogramms, des Themenparks und der Weltweiten Projekte der Weltausstellung Expo 2000 in Hannover.
2001 bis 2006 Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und die Leitung des Ateliers von Lois Renner. Seit Jänner 2007 Leitung der Kommunikation der ERSTE Stiftung (http://www.erstestiftung.org/). Seit 2005 Präsidentin der österreichischen Sektion des KunstkritikerInnenverbands AICA (http://www.aica.at/).

 

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.