Page start

Content

Stella Rollig in conversation with Peter Baum and Bernhard Widder

Sunday, 21 January 2007

Herbert Bayer´s writing, his art work, his plans and designs for cities, for public space and for landscapes conjoin concepts of the early modernism of the 20th century with visionary, ecologically oriented solutions. (Bernhard Widder)

Herbert Bayer, one of the great all-round artists of the 20th century?

The artist, born in 1900 in Haag am Hausruck, achieved an international career. This took Bayer from Linz to Germany to the USA, where the former Bauhaus master died in 1985 in California. Bayer was one of the most influential designers and landscape architects in the United States, but he also set new standards as a painter, photographer and sculptor in his new homeland.
A discussion about one of the most important Upper Austrian artists of the 20th century with Prof. Peter Baum and Bernhard Widder. Herbert and Joella Bayer were friends of the New Gallery and the directors Walter Kasten and Peter Baum. Bernhard Widder has researched Bayer´s America projects and is an expert on his estate, which is preserved in the Santa Barbara Museum and the Denver Art Museum.
In the basement there is a special presentation of the 50 works comprising the bequest from Joella Bayer, the artist´s widow, who died in 2004. This exhibition is enhanced with prominent Bayer paintings and photographs, which are "classics of art history", presented as "Work in Focus".

Following the panel discussion Bayer films will be shown in the auditorium.

Bernhard Widder
born 1955 in Linz, lives in Vienna. Studied architecture (Technical University Vienna). Freelance work as architect, writer, photographer, literary and architectural critic. Lectures and seminars since 1986 in Austria, the USA, Mexico and Columbia. 1996-2000 research work on Herbert Bayer´s architectural work in the USA and Mexico. Published the monograph Herbert Bayer. Architektur, Skulptur, Landschaftsgestaltung (Vienna 2000).
Exhibition curator of the show "herbert bayer. arhitectura, sculptura, pejsagistica" (January/February 2007) University "Ion Mincu", Bucharest, Romania.

Peter Baum
born 1939 in Vienna, studied law (University of Vienna), worked as graphic artist and painter from 1958 to 1973. Art critic, cultural journalist and photographer for Austrian newspapers and journals. Until 1968 director of the Galerie auf der Stubenbastei, Vienna, from 1971 to 1974 director of the Galerie Schottenring, 1974 to 2004 director of the New Gallery of the City of Linz, roughly 350 exhibitions on contemporary and classical art of the 20th century. Numerous books, catalogues, articles and lectures in Linz, Vienna and Graz. Curator of the biennials in Sao Paulo, Sydney, Ljubljana, Nuremberg, Cagnes sur Mer, and others. Founding director of the Lentos Art Museum, which opened on 18 May 2003. Freelance work since 2004.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:

Stella Rollig im Gespräch mit Peter Baum und Bernhard Widder

Sonntag, 21. Jänner 2007

Ein Sonntag für Herbert Bayer


Herbert Bayers Schriften, bildnerische Werke, seine Planungen und Gestaltungen für Städte, für den öffentlichen Raum und für Landschaften verbinden Konzepte der frühen Moderne des 20. Jahrhunderts mit visionären, ökologisch orientierten Lösungen. (Bernhard Widder)

Herbert Bayer, einer der großen Gesamtkünstler des 20. Jahrhunderts?
Dem 1900 in Haag am Hausruck geborenen Künstler gelang eine internationale Karriere. Sie führte Bayer von Linz über Deutschland in die USA, wo der einstige Bauhaus-Meister 1985 in Kalifornien starb. Bayer war in den Vereinigten Staaten einer der einflussreichsten Designer und Landschaftsgestalter, setzte aber auch als Maler, Fotograf und Bildhauer in seiner neuen Heimat Maßstäbe.

Ein Gespräch über einen der bedeutendsten oö. Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts mit Prof. Peter Baum und DI Bernhard Widder. Herbert und Joella Bayer waren mit der Neuen Galerie und den Direktoren Walter Kasten und Peter Baum freundschaftlich verbunden. Bernhard Widder erforschte Bayers Amerika-Projekte und ist Experte des Nachlasses, der sich im Santa Barbara Museum und im Denver Art Museum befindet.

Im Untergeschoss wird die 50 Werke umfassende Stiftung von Joella Bayer, der 2004 verstorbenen Witwe des Künstlers, in einer Sonderpräsentation gezeigt. Ergänzend sind prominente Bayer Gemälde und Fotografien, heute "Klassiker der Kunstgeschichte" als Werk im Fokus ausgestellt.

Im Anschluss an die Podiumsdiskussion werden Bayer-Filme im Auditorium gezeigt.


Bernhard Widder

geboren 1955 in Linz, lebt in Wien. Studium der Architektur (TU Wien). Freischaffende Tätigkeit als Architekt, Schriftsteller, Fotograf. Literatur -und Architekturkritik. Seit 1986 Lehrtätigkeit und Vorträge in Österreich, USA, Mexiko und Kolumbien. 1996-2000 Forschungsarbeit über das architektonische Werk Herbert Bayers in den USA und in Mexiko. Dazu erschien die Monografie Herbert Bayer – Architektur, Skulptur, Landschaftsgestaltung (Wien 2000).
Ausstellungskurator der Schau herbert bayer – arhitectura, sculptura, pejsagistica (Jänner-Februar 2007) Universität "Ion Mincu", Bukarest, Rumänien.

Peter Baum
geboren 1939 in Wien, Jusstudium (Universität Wien), tätig als Grafiker und Maler von 1958 bis 1973. Kunstkritiker, Kulturjournalist und Fotograf für österreichische Zeitungen und Fachzeitschriften. Bis 1969 Leiter der Galerie auf der Stubenbastei, Wien, von 1971 bis 1974 Leiter der Galerie Schottenring, 1974–2004 Direktor der Neuen Galerie der Stadt Linz, ca. 350 Ausstellungen zur aktuellen und klassischen Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts. Zahlreiche Bücher, Kataloge, Fachbeiträge sowie Vorlesungstätigkeit in Linz, Wien und Graz. Kurator u.a. der Biennalen in Sao Paulo, Sydney, Ljubljana, Nürnberg und Cagnes sur Mer. Gründungsdirektor des Lentos Kunstmuseum Linz, das am 18. Mai 2003 eröffnet wurde. Seit 2004 freischaffend tätig.

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.