Page start

LUISA KASALICKY
Intro: desiderio

19 October 2013 to 2 February 2014

Luisa Kasalicky’s exhibition at the LENTOS invites visitors to take part in an intriguing game of illusions that will present a challenge to their senses. Being the first light composition the artist has developed for a museum, it is also something of a première.

For this installation, which the artist has designed specifically with the LENTOS in mind, she treats the two adjacent exhibition rooms in the museum’s basement as separate entities. In the first room it is the walls that attract the artist’s attention. Using snap lines, a device employed by bricklayers to align brickwork, the artist applies large-scale ornaments that appear to open up the wall. This geometric clarity contrasts with the drama of the light installation in the second room.
Concealed by curtains so as not to disrupt the darkness, windows enable visitors to inspect the other half of the installation. Sharply focused spotlights carve out various details of the objects in the room: illusionist wallpaper; light-reflecting materials; tiles tapering off so as to produce a perspectival illusion; and a number of other constructions made from everyday materials of the sort that we have become familiar with from Kasalicky’s previous work. The spatial totality remains shrouded in darkness. The duration, pattern sequence and rhythm of the light composition focus and guide the gaze of the observer. The artist expressly wants the observer’s eyes to do her bidding.

Luisa Kasalicky’s work gravitates toward that border area where painting, sculpture and architecture overlap. Having trained as a painter and graphic artist, she discovered the third dimension for her work early on and has retained her predilection for it ever since.
Her multilayered installations, which regularly use the most diverse materials, colours and objects, test the surrounding space for its dynamism and observers for the sharpness of their perception.

Luisa Kasalicky (b. 1974 in Prague) attended the Glass College in Kramsach/Tyrol before studying painting and graphic arts at Vienna’s Academy of Fine Arts. She lives in Vienna, where she has held the post of an assistant to Professor Erwin Bohatsch at the Academy of Fine Arts since 2009.

Head of project: Nina Kirsch

Events

Opening
Fri 18 October 2013, 7pm
(together with GLAM! The Performance of Style)

Guided tours

Every Thursday, 7 pm
The guided tours combine the two exhibitions.
LUISA KASALICKY and the artist rooms in the exhibition THE COLLECTION

Duration 1 hour, costs € 3,-, exclusive admission, German only

Catalogue

cover catalogueA catalogue accompanying the exhibition in German will be published at Verlag Moderne Kunst Nürnberg. 56 pages, with numerous illustrations, including sketches and object and exhibition photographs and texts by Luisa Kasalicky, Nina Kirsch and Siegfried Zaworka. Edited by LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz.
Museum's price € 22.00


Buy online at the LENTOS Shop
(Order transaction in German only)

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

LUISA KASALICKY
Intro: desiderio

19. Oktober 2013 bis 2. Februar 2014

Zu einem geheimnisvollen Spiel mit Illusionen lädt Luisa Kasalicky in ihrer Ausstellung im LENTOS. Erstmals entwickelt die Künstlerin für ein Museum eine ihrer jüngsten Lichtkompositionen, die die Sinne herausfordern.

Für die ortspezifische Installation trennt Kasalicky die beiden Ausstellungsräume im Untergeschoss in zwei Teile. Im ersten Raum sind es die Wände, denen sie ihre Aufmerksamkeit schenkt. Mittels Schnalzschnüren, einer Markierungshilfe für Maurerarbeiten, bringt die Künstlerin großflächige Ornamente an, welche die Wand zu öffnen scheinen. Dieser geometrischen Klarheit ist eine dramatische Lichtinszenierung im zweiten Raum gegenüber gesetzt.
Hinter Vorhängen verborgen, um die Dunkelheit nicht zu stören, ermöglichen Fenster den Blick in den anderen Bereich der Installation. Scharf begrenzte Lichtspots beleuchten Details der Objekte im Raum: eine illusionistische Tapete, glänzende Stoffe, perspektivisch verjüngte Fliesen und andere Konstruktionen aus diversen Materialien des Alltags, die Kasalickys bisheriges Schaffen kennzeichnen. Die räumliche Gesamtheit bleibt im Dunkeln verborgen. Zeitdauer, Abfolge und Geschwindigkeit der Lichtkomposition steuern und beeinflussen den Blick der BetrachterInnen. Ganz bewusst werden die Sinneseindrücke von der Künstlerin gelenkt.

Als Kunst im Grenzbereich zwischen Malerei, Skulptur und Architektur könnte man das Oeuvre von Luisa Kasalicky bezeichnen. Früh schon entdeckte die studierte Malerin und Grafikerin neben dem Zweidimensionalen die dritte Dimension für ihre Arbeiten.
Ihre vielschichtigen Installationen aus unterschiedlichsten Werkstoffen, Farben und Objekten testen den umgebenden Raum auf seinen Wirkungsbereich und die BetrachterInnen auf ihre Wahrnehmung.

Luisa Kasalicky (geb. 1974 in Prag) besuchte die Glasfachschule Kramsach/Tirol, bevor sie an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien Malerei und Grafik studierte. Sie lebt in Wien, wo sie seit 2009 an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Assistentin in der Klasse von Erwin Bohatsch ist.

Projektleitung: Nina Kirsch

      AK Kulturmonat November: Sondereintritt € 1,- für AK-Card InhaberInnen

Veranstaltungen

Eröffnung
Fr 18. Oktober 2013, 19 Uhr
gemeinsam mit der Ausstellung GLAM! The Performance of Style

Führungen

Immer donnerstags, 19 Uhr
LUISA KASALICKY und die KünstlerInnenräume in der Ausstellung DIE SAMMLUNG
Kombinierte Führung durch beide Ausstellungen

Dauer 1 Stunde, Führungsbeitrag € 3,- zuzügl. Eintritt
Keine Anmeldung erforderlich.

Katalog

KatalogcoverZur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog im Verlag moderner Kunst Nürnberg. In deutscher Sprache, 56 Seiten, mit zahlreichen Abbildungen, darunter Skizzen, Objektfotografien und Ausstellungsansichten sowie Textbeiträgen von Luisa Kasalicky, Nina Kirsch und Siegfried Zaworka. Hg. vom LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz
Museumspreis € 22

Katalog online im LENTOS Shop bestellen

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.