Page start

LATIFA ECHAKHCH
Restart

13 March to 31 May 2015

Transformation and memory are the key themes that inform Latifa Echakhch’s oeuvre. As part of the consistent pursuit of her approach, the artist has combined in this exhibition three work groups and individual objects, all dealing with deconstruction and change.

Wall texts that have partially become detached appear alongside imposing paintings featuring networks of tangled lines and scenery flats, disillusioningly seen from behind: fading memories of an individual self, whose unfulfilled hopes have outlasted youthful simplicity, attempts to break free from ascribed identities, and the seemingly endless multitude of definitions of one’s own personality are all simultaneously represented here.

In her work, the artist calls into question the symbolic significance of objects. She experiments with that significance by bringing all sorts of national, cultural, (socio)political and personal influences to bear on the objects and by changing their context, which results in a new freedom of thinking about them. Her own story as a Frenchwoman with Moroccan roots living in Switzerland forms the backdrop for themes that concern all of us.

Latifa Echakhch (b. 1974), who was awarded the Prix Marcel Duchamp in 2013 and the Zurich Art Prize in 2015, will have her first museum exhibition in Austria at the LENTOS.

With the generous support of Phileas.

Opening

Thursday, 12. March 2015, 7 pm

(together with the exhibition Love & Loss)

Guided tours

Duration 1 hour, costs € 3, exclusive admission, German only

Every Thursday, 7 pm
The guided tours combine the two exhibitions Latifa Echakhch and The Collection.

Exhibition booklet

A free exhibition booklet with information on the exhibits is available in German and English language.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

LATIFA ECHAKHCH
Neubeginn

13. März bis 31. Mai 2015

Wandel und Erinnerung sind die großen Themen, die Latifa Echakhchs Œuvre prägen. Als konsequente Weiterentwicklung dieser Auseinandersetzung vereint die Künstlerin in dieser Ausstellung drei Werkgruppen und einzelne Objekte, die von Dekonstruktion und Veränderung handeln. 

Teilweise abgelöste Wandtexte kombiniert Echakhch mit imposanten Gemälden dichter schwarzer Liniennetze und Kulissenelementen, die nur mit ihrer Rückseite präsentiert werden: Verblasste Erinnerungen an das eigene Selbst, dessen nicht erfüllte Hoffnungen die jugendliche Naivität überdauert haben, und der Versuch, sich von der zugeschriebenen Identität loszulösen, sowie die scheinbar endlose Vielfalt an Möglichkeiten, die eigene Persönlichkeit zu definieren, stehen einander gegenüber.

Echakhch hinterfragt in ihren Werken die symbolische Bedeutung von Objekten. Sie spielt mit deren Aufladung durch nationale, kulturelle, (gesellschafts)politische und persönliche Einflüsse, verändert ihren Kontext und schafft dadurch neue Gedankenfreiräume. Ihre eigene Geschichte – als Französin mit marokkanischen Wurzeln, die in der Schweiz lebt – ist dabei oft Ausgangspunkt für Themen, die uns alle betreffen.

Latifa Echakhch (geb. 1974), Preisträgerin 2013 des Prix Marcel Duchamp und 2015 des Zurich Art Prize, zeigt im LENTOS ihre erste Museumsausstellung in Österreich.

Mit großzügiger Unterstützung von Phileas.

Eröffnung

Donnerstag, 12. März 2015, 19 Uhr

Die Schau wird gemeinsam mit der Ausstellung Love & Loss. Mode und Vergänglichkeit eröffnet.

Führungen

Dauer 1 Stunde, € 3 zzgl. Eintritt
Keine Anmeldung erforderlich. Die TeilnehmerInnenzahl ist begrenzt.

MIT KUNSTVERMITTLER/IN
Jeden Donnerstag, 19 Uhr
Kombinierte Führung durch die Ausstellungen Latifa Echakhch und Die Sammlung.

Saalheft

Unseren BesucherInnen steht ein Saalheft in deutscher und englischer Sprache zur Verfügung.

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.