Page start

CATHY WILKES

3 July to 4 October 2015

LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz presents the largest and most comprehensive display of work to date by Turner Prize nominated artist Cathy Wilkes (b. 1966 Belfast, lives and works in Glasgow). Bringing together more than a decade of the artist’s acclaimed work, this unique exhibition includes several of her largescale sculptural installations alongside paintings, works on paper and archive materials.

Best known for her imaginary environments which recall poetic visions, her installations evoke places of loss or transformation. Her work is occupied by beings, often of unspecified gender: infants, elders and animals. It includes collections of objects and treasured ingredients accumulated from daily life, for example cloths, towels, cups and plates and biscuits.

The works shown here include Untitled (Possil, at last), originally exhibited at the 55th Venice Biennale in 2013, which remembers in its title the Glasgow district of Possil where Possil Pottery was located during the nineteenth century before its closing in 1942, and Untitled (Biggar) 2013 which in turn alludes to a small former mining town in South Lanarkshire. In these works the displacement of geographical and temporal conditions and the frailty of existence are set in counter relation to a sense of infinite and unbreakable time continuum.

Conceived by Cathy Wilkes and curated by Francesco Manacorda, Tate Liverpool with Stella Rollig, Lentos Kunstmuseum. Organised by Tate Liverpool in collaboration with Lentos Kunstmuseum, Linz and Museum Abteiberg, Mönchengladbach.

Logo sculpture networkFrom 1 to 3 October 2015 the XIII International Forum 2015 of Sculpture Network takes place in Linz. Topic will be Advanced Media / Expanded Sculpture. The LENTOS is part of the Forum.
For programme details and registration click here.

Guided tours

PUBLIC GUIDED TOUR
Duration 1 hour, costs € 3, exclusive admission, German only
Every Sunday, 4 pm

FLASHLIGHT GUIDED TOUR
in English, Czech and Turkish
Duration 30 Min, € 2 plus admission fee
Saturday, 4 July, 4 pm
Saturday, 1 August, 4 pm
Saturday, 5 September, 4 pm
Saturday, 3 October, 4 pm

GUIDED TOUR FOR DEAF MUSEUM VISITORS
with sign language interpreter
Admission and guided tour free for deafs
Saturday, 4 July, 4 pm
Saturday, 4 August, 4 pm

OPENING

Thursday, 2 July 2015, 7 pm

Publication

Cover KatalogThe exhibition is accompanied by a publication. With texts by Cathy Wilkes as well as Andrea Nixon, Francesco Manacorda, Stella Rollig and Susanne Titz.
63 pages, price: € 17,50



Buy online at the LENTOS Shop
(Order transaction in German only)

 

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

CATHY WILKES

3. Juli bis 4. Oktober 2015

Das LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz präsentiert die bisher größte und umfassendste Schau der für den Turner Prize nominierten Künstlerin Cathy Wilkes (geb. 1966 in Belfast, lebt und arbeitet in Glasgow). Die Ausstellung versammelt Arbeiten aus mehr als einem Jahrzehnt, darunter mehrere große skulpturale Installationen, Gemälde, Arbeiten auf Papier und Archivmaterial.

Ihre Installationen schaffen erzählerische Momente und evozieren Orte, die mit Verlust oder Veränderung verbunden sind. Figuren – Kleinkinder, Ältere, Tiere – kombiniert Wilkes mit Gegenständen des alltäglichen Lebens wie Stoffe, Handtücher, Schalen, Teller und Kekse.

Zu den hier gezeigten Werken gehört Untitled (Possil, at last), erstmals gezeigt auf der 55. Biennale von Venedig 2013, das in seinem Titel an Possil erinnert: ein Stadtteil von Glasgow, wo sich seit dem 19. Jahrhundert bis zur Schließung im Jahr 1942 die Töpferei Possil befand. Untitled (Biggar), 2013, spielt auf eine kleine ehemalige Bergarbeiterstadt in der schottischen Grafschaft South Lanarkshire an. Diese Arbeiten knüpfen Beziehungen zu geografisch und zeitlich entfernten Lebensbedingungen. Sie sprechen von der Zerbrechlichkeit der Existenz und dem gleichzeitigen Empfinden eines unendlichen, unzerstörbaren Kontinuums der Zeit.

Konzept Cathy Wilkes, KuratorInnen Francesco Manacorda, Tate Liverpool, und Stella Rollig, LENTOS. Organisation Tate Liverpool in Zusammenarbeit mit dem LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz und dem Museum Abteiberg, Mönchengladbach

Saalplan

Unseren BesucherInnen steht ein erweiterter Saalplan in deutscher und englischer Sprache zur Verfügung.

Logo Sculpture NetworkVon 1. bis 3. Oktober 2015 findet in Linz das XIII International Forum 2015 des Sculpture Network zum Thema Advanced Media / Expanded Sculpture unter Beteiligung des LENTOS statt.
Hier geht's zum Programm und zur Anmeldung.

Führungen

Mit Kunstvermittler/In
Jeden Sonntag, 16 Uhr
Dauer 1 Stunde, € 3 zzgl. Eintritt
Keine Anmeldung erforderlich. Die TeilnehmerInnenzahl ist begrenzt.

Blitzlichtführungen
Auf Englisch und Tschechisch/Deutsch
Dauer 30 Min., € 2 zzgl. Eintritt
Keine Anmeldung erforderlich. Die TeilnehmerInnenzahl ist begrenzt.
Samstag, 4. Juli, 16 Uhr
Samstag, 1. August, 16 Uhr
Samstag, 5. September, 16 Uhr
Samstag, 3. Oktober, 16 Uhr

Führungen für Gehörlose
Führung mit Gebärdensprachdolmetscherin
Eintritt und Führung für Gehörlose frei
Samstag, 4. Juli, 16 Uhr
Samstag, 1. August, 16 Uhr

Veranstaltungen

Eröffnung
Donnerstag, 2. Juli 2015, 19 Uhr

Lange Nacht der Museen 
Samstag, 3. Oktober, 18–1 Uhr
Programm folgt.
Kosten: Ticket Lange Nacht der Museen

Publikation

Cover KatalogZur Ausstellung erscheint ein Künstlerinnenbuch mit Texten von Cathy Wilkes und einem Vorwort von Andrea Nixon, Francesco Manacorda, Stella Rollig und Susanne Titz.
63 Seiten, farb. Abbildungen, dt./engl., ISBN 9781849763455, Preis: EUR 17,50

Buch online im LENTOS Shop bestellen.

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.