Page start

forum metall

In 1977 Linz dropped an "artistic bomshell" that resonated far beyond Austria’s borders: forum metall presented large-scale metal sculptures by internationally renowned contemporary artists in the Donaupark. The opening of the presentation coincided with that of the Fourth Bruckner Festival.

Linz: Industrial location and rising artistic metropolis
Three years after the completion of Linz’s flagship concert hall, the Brucknerhaus, forum metall marked another important stage in the city’s development from a location of industry to a city of culture. On 12 September 1977 the city’s first open-air museum opened in the Donaupark, offering the first truly representative overview of abstract sculpture of the 1960s and 1970s. At the same time forum metall offered comprehensive insights into the possibilities iron, steel and aluminium held in store for sculptors.

A new type of event
The conception, organisation and artistic direction lay in the hands of Helmuth Gsöllpointner, then Dean of the University of Art and Industrial Design Linz and professor of the Metal Master Class, and of Peter Baum, then Director of the Neue Galerie der Stadt Linz (today’s LENTOS). One of the aims pursued by the organisers of forum metall was to leave the trodden paths of conventional exhibitions and strike out in an altogether new direction. At the same time, the choice of metal as a material for artists to work with underlined its importance for Linz, the "steel city". The perfect interplay between art and the economy made it possible to realise this outstanding open-air ensemble of contemporary art.

The "Linzer Superding" [The Linz thing at the top of the pile] (DIE ZEIT)
The media echo surrounding forum metall exceeded all expectations. No exhibition in Austria in the field of modern art had ever called forth comparable interest both on the part of the media and the public. In this way, forum metall succeeded spectacularly in focusing international attention on its status of an emerging metropolis of art.

 
The LENTOS is in charge of the maintenance of the artworks.
As part of Linz’s year as Capital of Culture Linz09 the Linz AG had a lighting system installed for the sculptures.

A Roll Call of the Elite of Plastic Artists
For forum metall internationally renowned plastic artists from seven nations were invited. On the basis of their blueprints all sculptures were conceived with the Linz venue in mind and executed in Austrian workshops in close collaboration with the artists, some of whom even supervised the physical process of production in person. The scultpures were to remain in place for at least two years. Thanks to the spontaneous generosity of the artists, many exhibits are now on permanent loan.

Artists and sculptures:
Herbert Bayer, Brunnenskulptur (1977)
Max Bill, Pavillonskulptur III (1977)
Amadeo Gabino, Hommage à Anton Bruckner (1998)
Mathias Goeritz, Die Schlange – La Serpiente (1986)
Erwin Heerich, Untitled (1977)
Piotr Kowalski, Thermocouple (1977)
Eduardo Paolozzi, Hommage à Anton Bruckner (1977)
David Rabinowitch, Ellipse in 10 Teilen (1974–77)
Erwin Reiter, Strömung (1977)
Günther Uecker, Tisch der Austreibung (1977)
Helmuth Gsöllpointner, Evolution (1979) originally installed on the precincts of Oberbank (Untere Donaulände) and integrated into forum metall in 2010

Works of art that were formerly part of forum metall
HAUS-RUCKER-CO, Nike von Samothrake (1977)
Donald Judd, Four Boxes (1977)
Bernhard Luginbühl, Linzer Atlas (1977)
Klaus Rinke, Zwei Vertikalachsen, die sich im Erdmittelpunkt treffen (1977)

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

forum metall

Mit einem "künstlerischen Paukenschlag" ließ Linz 1977 weit über die Grenzen Österreichs hinaus aufhorchen: Das forum metall präsentierte im Donaupark, zeitgleich zur Eröffnung des vierten Brucknerfests, großformatige Metallplastiken zeitgenössischer, international renommierter Künstler.

Linz: Industriestandort und aufstrebende Kunstmetropole
Drei Jahre nach dem Bau des Linzer Konzerthauses, dem Brucknerhaus, setzte das forum metall einen weiteren wichtigen Schritt in der Entwicklung von der Industriestadt hin zur Kulturstadt. Am 12. September 1977 wurde im Linzer Donaupark das erste Freilichtmuseum eröffnet, das erstmals einen repräsentativen Querschnitt der abstrakten Plastik der sechziger und siebziger Jahre versammelte. Zugleich bot forum metall einen umfassenden Einblick, welche Möglichkeiten Eisen, Stahl und Aluminium dem Bildhauer bieten.

Eine Veranstaltung neuen Typs
Konzept, Organisation und künstlerische Leitung von forum metall lagen bei Helmuth Gsöllpointner, dem damaligen Rektor der Kunstuniversität Linz und Professor der Meisterklasse Metall und bei Peter Baum, dem Leiter der Neuen Galerie der Stadt Linz (heute LENTOS). Mit forum metall sprengten die Organisatoren bewusst die konventionellen Wege üblicher Ausstellungspraxis. Mit Wahl des Werkstoffs Metall wurde zugleich die Bedeutung dieses Materials für die "Stahlstadt" Linz unterstrichen. Ein perfektes Zusammenspiel von Kunst und Wirtschaft machte es möglich, dieses unvergleichliche Open-Air-Ensemble moderner Kunst zu realisieren.

"Das Linzer Superding" (Die Zeit)
Das große Medienecho rund um forum metall übertraf alle Erwartungen. Keine Ausstellung aus dem Bereich moderner Kunst hatte zuvor in Österreich ein derartiges Interesse bei Medien wie Publikum erweckt. Damit gelang es forum metall die Stadt Linz als aufstrebende Kunstmetropole überaus erfolgreich in das internationale Blickfeld zu rücken.


Für die Wartung der Kunstwerke ist das LENTOS Ansprechpartner. Im Rahmen des Kulturhauptstadtjahres Linz09 installierte die Linz AG eine Beleuchtung für die Skulpturen.

SOMMER AUF DER LÄNDE
Führung forum metall
Erfahren Sie mehr über die Geschichte des Symposiums forum metall (1977) und die Skulpturen im Donaupark.
Führungskarte €3, Eintritt frei
Anmeldung erbeten.
SO 20. August, 11 Uhr

Das Who is Who der plastischen Elite
Zu forum metall waren international namhafte plastischen Künstler aus sieben Nationen eingeladen worden. Nach ihren Entwürfen sowie unter ihrer Mitarbeit und teilweise sogar Überwachung der Fertigung wurden sämtliche Plastiken eigens für Linz konzipiert und in österreichischen Betrieben hergestellt. Die Aufstellung der Plastiken war zunächst für mindestens zwei Jahre vorgesehen. In vielen Fällen wurden, dank des spontanen Entgegenkommens der beteiligten Künstler, hieraus Dauerleihgaben.

Künstler und Kunstwerke
Herbert Bayer, Brunnenskulptur (1977)
Max Bill, Pavillonskulptur III (1977)
Amadeo Gabino, Hommage à Anton Bruckner (1998)
Mathias Goeritz, Die Schlange – La Serpiente (1986)
Erwin Heerich, Ohne Titel (1977)
Piotr Kowalski, Thermocouple (1977)
Eduardo Paolozzi, Hommage à Anton Bruckner (1977)
David Rabinowitch, Ellipse in 10 Teilen (1974–77)
Erwin Reiter, Strömung (1977)
Günther Uecker, Tisch der Austreibung (1977)
Helmuth Gsöllpointner, Evolution (1979); ursprünglich bei der Oberbank (Untere Donaulände) aufgestellt und 2010 zum forum metall ergänzt

Ehemalige Kunstwerke des forum metall
HAUS-RUCKER-CO, Nike von Samothrake (1977)
Donald Judd, Four Boxes (1977)
Bernhard Luginbühl, Linzer Atlas (1977)
Klaus Rinke, Zwei Vertikalachsen, die sich im Erdmittelpunkt treffen (1977)

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.