Page start

VALIE EXPORT
The Archive as a Place of Artistic Research

10 November 2017 until 28 January 2018

The exhibition space in the lower level of LENTOS will temporarily become the VALIE EXPORT Archive and provide insights into the artist's thinking, research and development of ideas. In this way she becomes comprehensible as a public person, theorist, and teacher through an abundance of documents, autographs, sketches, and drafts, and also as a private person in letters, poems, photos and notes. In addition, what has been collected and “preserved” opens up a view of the artistic network and collective memory of a period of over fifty years.

The exhibition approaches the artist’s extensive archive using an experimental mode of presentation and conveys impressions of the scope of VALIE EXPORT’s artistic research and processes of production based on selected examples. Artists’ archives are increasingly becoming a subject of public and academic interest. They provide information about the path from finding ideas all the way to the detailed formulation of a work and also about the cultural climate of an era. They often even form the central subject of the work.

VALIE EXPORT, born 1940 in Linz, is a pioneer of avantgarde and experimental film and one of the most highly regarded media artists internationally.

Curator: Sabine Folie

VALIE EXPORT Center Linz



The VALIE EXPORT Center Linz, the international research center for media and performance art, opens its doors in the Tabakfabrik with a festive celebration on 10 November 2017. The opening will be accompanied by the symposium on the topic of Unruly Archives. Art and its Paper Trails in the Center and the exhibition VALIE EXPORT. The Archive as a Place of Artistic Research in LENTOS.

In Colloboration with

An exhibition of the LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz in collaboration with the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein.

Events

EXHIBITION OPENING
Thursday, 9 November, 7 p.m., LENTOS
VALIE EXPORT. The Archive as a Place of Artistic Research
Free admission

OPENING VALIE EXPORT Center Linz
Friday 10 November 2017, 11 a.m., Tabakfabrik Linz
The international research center for media and performance art opens with a ceremony and a symposium on the topic of Unruly Archives. Art and its Paper Trails.

Guided Tours

PUBLIC GUIDED TOUR
EVERY THURSDAY, 7 PM
Duration 1 hour, costs € 3, exclusive admission, German only
The guided tours combine the two exhibitions VALIE EXPORT and The Collection.

TOUR WITH THE CURATOR
SAT 11 NOVEMBER, 4 PM
with Sabine Folie
Duration 1 hour, costs € 3, exclusive admission, German only

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Foto: maschekS.

Seitenanfang

VALIE EXPORT
Das Archiv als Ort künstlerischer Forschung

10. November 2017 bis 28. Jänner 2018

Der Ausstellungsraum im Untergeschoss des LENTOS wird temporär zum Archiv VALIE EXPORT und gewährt Einblicke in das Denken, Forschen und Entwickeln der Künstlerin. Dabei wird sie als öffentliche Person, Theoretikerin und Lehrende aus einer Fülle von Dokumenten, Autografen, Skizzen und Entwürfen ebenso greifbar wie als private in Briefen, Gedichten, Fotos und Notizen. Aus der Fülle des „Aufbewahrten“ erschließt sich darüber hinaus das künstlerische Netzwerk und das kollektive Gedächtnis eines Zeitraumes von mehr als fünfzig Jahren.

Über unterschiedliche experimentelle Präsentationsweisen nähert sich die Ausstellung dem umfangreichen Archiv der Künstlerin an und vermittelt anhand exemplarischer Beispiele Eindrücke von der Bandbreite künstlerischer Forschung und künstlerischer Produktionsprozesse. Künstlerarchive treten zunehmend in den Fokus des öffentlichen und wissenschaftlichen Interesses. Sie geben Auskunft über den Weg der Ideenfindung bis hin zur Ausformulierung eines Werkes und das kulturelle Klima einer Zeit.

Das Archiv von VALIE EXPORT wurde als Vorlass von der Stadt Linz erworben und bildet den Grundstock für das VALIE EXPORT Center Linz, das als international orientiertes Forschungszentrum für Medien- und Performancekunst in Kooperation mit der Kunstuniversität Linz ab November 2017 in der Tabakfabrik Linz betrieben wird.

VALIE EXPORT, 1940 in Linz geboren, ist Pionierin des Avantgarde- und experimentellen Films und eine der renommiertesten Medienkünstlerinnen international.

Kuratorin: Sabine Folie

Veranstaltungen

AUSSTELLUNGSERÖFFNUNG
VALIE EXPORT. Das Archiv als Ort Künstlerischer Forschung
Donnerstag, 9. November 2017, 19 Uhr, LENTOS
Eintritt frei

ERÖFFNUNG VALIE EXPORT Center
Freitag 10. November 2017, 11 Uhr, Tabakfabrik

Das internationale Forschungszentrum für Medien- und Performancekunst in der Tabakfabrik eröffnet mit einem Festakt und einem Symposium zum Thema Wilde Archive. Kunst und ihre papiernen Spuren.

Führungen

Kinder und Familie

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: maschekS.