Page start

Content
Work by sometimes lovers, sometimes friends

sometimes lovers, sometimes friends

Contemporary Art from the Lentos Collection

This presentation assembles contemporary works from the Lentos Collection. With the exception of a drawing by Raymond Pettibon and a photograph by Bernhard Prinz, both from the 1990s, all of these works were created at the beginning of this new century. Hence they reflect reactions to the immediate present with artistic means.
The selection illustrates several trends that are evident in current art production. On the one hand there is a pleasure in narrative, in telling stories, which is linked with the artists' interest in the medium of the cinema film and in pop. Like spotlights or three-minute pop songs these pictures describe moments, situations and places that suggest the continuum of a story, a before and after, challenging the imagination to fill in the gaps. Modes of depiction close to everyday life, languages of forms from popular culture become manifest: Pettibon, Andreas Leikauf and Martin Schnur quote comic strips and illustrations, Gerhard Trumler the possible setting of a film noir.
Monika Oechsler works with the sophisticated means of today's moving picture industry to convey psychological key moments in her compressed video stories. Dietmar Brehm starts from the material, from the single frame, which he isolates and penetratingly intensifies using size and combination. Doris Krüger demonstrates how the eye and the brain are so willingly deceived by the computer-generated image of a forest - which is "constructed" from photographs of parts of plants - that film lovers think they can hear the helicopter from Apocalypse Now approaching over the tree tops. Another method for questioning the authenticity of a picture is used by Herwig Kempinger, who dispenses with digital support in the creation of his photographs. His large-format photographs are neither concrete nor abstract; they are not "legible" and yet they evoke concepts of real spaces ("sky", "snow", "the expanse of the universe", ...).
The objects by Uli Aigner raise doubts about their status. Are they furniture, are they sculptures? The answer: both; they are as we see them, as we want them to be. sometimes lovers, sometimes friends, depending on what is needed.
In painting an interest in the human figure has returned. Whereas a proximity to kitsch and a generalizing mood - a strong contemporary trend in painting is the "New Romanticism" - is risked in the medium of painting, as with Soós Tamás, in their photographs Bernhard Prinz and Kaucyila Brooke focus on portrait-like stagings, taking pleasure in role-playing.
Despite all the possibilities of digital simulation, all the available paintbox software, the medium of hand drawing currently occupies a favored position in art. The picture by David Ebmer shows a woman praying in the blossom of her cloak, enthroned on a thorny rose stem. Maria Bussmann is a graphic artist, whose very personal, puzzling pictures evoke introspection, self-scrutiny. Despite all misgivings about overestimating individual "creativity", standing before these pictures it seems that one can distinguish residues of unmistakable subjectivity as a specific potential of art (and of being alive).

sometimes lovers, sometimes friends:
There are no final truths, no lasting identities, no Manichean explanations of the world, no this-is-how-it-is-and-there-is-no-other-way. The world and the life situations of each individual cannot be captured in black and white; there are flowing transitions between this and the other. You and I can be this or that, and only for today.
This presentation invites visitors to suspend their expectations of art as explanation and instructions and to temporarily make themselves at home (un)comfortably in the transient. Christof Kurzmann provides the appropriately brittle soundtrack to do so.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Foto: Raumansicht

sometimes lovers, sometimes friends

Zeitgenössische Kunst aus der Sammlung des Lentos
Diese Präsentation versammelt zeitgenössische Werke aus der Sammlung des Lentos. Bis auf zwei Ausnahmen - eine Zeichnung von Raymond Pettibon sowie eine Fotografie von Bernhard Prinz aus den 1990er Jahren - sind sie am Beginn dieses neuen Jahrhunderts entstanden und spiegeln damit Reaktionen auf die unmittelbare Gegenwart mit künstlerischen Mitteln wider.
Die Auswahl verdeutlicht einige Trends, die sich in der aktuellen Kunstproduktion abzeichnen. Da ist zum einen die Freude am Narrativen, am Geschichten Erzählen, die in Zusammenhang steht mit dem Interesse von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern am Medium Kinofilm und an Pop. Schlaglichtartig wie dreiminütige Popsongs schildern diese Bilder Momente, Situationen und Schauplätze, die das Kontinuum einer Geschichte, ein Davor und Danach suggerieren, das die Fantasie zu ergänzen herausgefordert ist. Alltagsnahe Darstellungsweisen, Formensprachen der Populärkultur treten auf den Plan: Pettibon, Andreas Leikauf und Martin Schnur zitieren Comic Strips und Illustrationen, Gerhard Trumler einen möglichen Schauplatz eines Film Noir.
Monika Oechsler arbeitet mit den perfektionierten Mitteln der heutigen Laufbild-Industrie, um in ihren verknappten Video-Storys psychologische Schlüsselmomente zu vermitteln. Dietmar Brehm geht vom Material aus, von einzelnen Filmkadern, die er isoliert und mittels Größe und Kombination eindringlich überhöht. Doris Krüger demonstriert, wie Auge und Gehirn sich von einer computer-generierten Darstellung eines Urwalds - die aus fotografierten Pflanzenteilen "gebaut" ist - so bereitwillig täuschen lassen, dass filmkundige Betrachterinnen und Betrachter die Helikopter aus Apokalypse Now über die Wipfel heran knattern zu hören meinen. Eine andere Methode, um die Authentizität einer Abbildung zu befragen, wählt Herwig Kempinger, der bei der Herstellung seiner Fotografien auf digitale Unterstützung verzichtet. Seine Großformate sind weder konkret noch abstrakt, sind nicht "lesbar" und evozieren dennoch Begriffe realer Räume ("Himmel", "Schnee", "die Weiten des Universums", ...).
Zweifel an ihrem Status erwecken die Objekte von Uli Aigner. Sind es Möbel, sind es Skulpturen? Antwort: beides; wie man es sieht, wie man es möchte. sometimes lovers, sometimes friends, je nach Bedürfnis.
In die Malerei ist ein Interesse an der menschlichen Figur zurück gekehrt. Während in diesem Medium, wie bei Soós Tamás, bewusst eine Nähe zum Kitsch und einer verallgemeinernden Stimmung riskiert wird - eine starke gegenwärtige Strömung in der Malerei ist die "Neue Romantik" - setzen Bernhard Prinz und Kaucyila Brooke mit ihren Fotografien auf porträthafte Inszenierungen mit Lust am Rollenspiel.
Allen digitalen Simulationsmöglichkeiten, aller Paintbox-Software zum Trotz besetzt das Medium der Handzeichnung gegenwärtig eine favorisierte Stellung in der Kunst. Das Blatt von David Ebmer zeigt eine betende Frau in der Blüte ihres Mantels, thronend auf einem dornigen Rosenstiel. Maria Bussmann ist eine Zeichnerin, deren sehr persönliche, verrätselte Blätter den Begriff der Introspektion, der Innenschau, aufrufen. Vor ihnen meint man - trotz allem Misstrauen gegen die Überschätzung  individueller "Kreativität" - Residuen unverwechselbarer Subjektivität als ein spezifisches Potenzial von Kunst (und von Lebendigsein) auszumachen.

sometimes lovers, sometimes friends:
Es gibt keine endgültigen Wahrheiten, keine dauerhaften Identitäten, keine manichäischen Welterklärungen, kein So-ist-es-und-nicht-anders. Die Welt und die Lebenssituationen jeder und jedes Einzelnen sind nicht in Schwarz-Weiss zu erfassen, es gibt fließende Übergänge zwischen diesem und anderem. Du und Ich können dieses sein oder jenes, und das nur heute.
Diese Präsentation lädt dazu ein, Erwartungen an Kunst als Erklärung und Anleitung zu suspendieren und sich im Übrigen im Vorübergehenden (un)wohnlich einzurichten. Christof Kurzmann liefert den spröden elektronischen Soundtrack dazu.


 

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.