Page start

Content
Work by Massimo Vitali: Mamamia 1

MASSIMO VITALI: PHOTOGRAPHS 1995–2005

16 June 2005 to 9 October 2005

In conjunction with the Lentos Museum's notable collection of photographs, photography will also play a significant role in the museum's special exhibitions. In the summer of 2005 the museum presents a major exhibition of the work of the internationally renowned photography artist Massimo Vitali.

Massimo Vitali was born in 1944 in Como (Italy). He studied classical painting in Milan and London. Since 1979 he has been working as a freelance photo journalist and is today one of the most internationally successful Italian artists.

Vitali's interest as an artist centers on the profusion of activities seen wherever we live out our leisure culture. Overcrowded beach scenes, packed disco dance floors, shopping malls, parties and airport departure lounges are captured in huge photographic works. Vitali's chosen perspective is from a podium, four or five metres high.  The people in the photo seem untouched by and indifferent to the presence of the camera. The way the image is composed they appear to be caught in an infinite remoteness, despite the familiarity of the situations. Vitali's images are immediately recognizable, highly detailed photos of events which borrow deliberately from the historical painting of previous centuries.

Exhibitions (selected):
2000     Fotohof Salzburg
2002     Plateau of mankind, Venice Biennale
2004     Bonni Benrubi Gallery, New York
              Museum of Contemporary Art, Prato
              Hilger contemporary, Vienna

Prizes:
1967     Premio NIEPCE


 

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Foto von Massimo Vitali: Rosignano Solvay Sea 1, 1998

Massimo Vitali: Fotografien 1995 - 2005

Eröffnung: 16. Juni 2005, 19 Uhr

Im Zusammenhang mit der bedeutenden Fotografie-Sammlung des Lentos wird auch in den Sonderausstellungen ein Schwerpunkt auf dieses Medium gelegt. Im Sommer 2005 zeigt das Museum eine große Werkschau des international renommierten Fotokünstlers Massimo Vitali.

Massimo Vitali wurde 1944 in Como (Italien) geboren. Das Studium der klassischen Malerei absolvierte er in Mailand und London. Seit 1979 arbeitet Vitali als freischaffender Fotojournalist, heute zählt er zu den international erfolgreichsten italienischen Künstlern.

Im Mittelpunkt des künstlerischen Interesses Vitalis steht das soziale Geschehen an Orten der Freizeit- und Konsumkultur. Überfüllte Strände, dicht bevölkerte Discos, Einkaufszentren, Freizeitparks und Abflughallen werden in riesigen Fotoarbeiten festgehalten. Vitali wählt dabei seinen Blickwinkel von einem Podest aus vier bis fünf Metern Höhe.  Die abgelichteten Personen erscheinen unbeeindruckt von der Anwesenheit der Kamera. Aufgrund der bildlichen Komposition wirken sie trotz der wieder erkennbaren Situationen wie in eine unendliche Distanz gerückt. Vitalis Bilder sind unverwechselbare, detailgenaue Ereignisfotos, die bewusst Anleihen bei der Historienmalerei vergangener Jahrhunderte nehmen.

Ausstellungen (Auswahl):
2000  Fotohof Salzburg
2002  Plateau of mankind, Biennale Venedig
2004  Bonni Benrubi Gallery, New York
 Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst, Prato
 Hilger contemporary, Wien

Preise:
1967 Premio NIEPCE


 

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.