Page start

Content
Work by Gottfried Helnwein: Epiphany (Die Anbetung der Könige)

Gottfried Helnwein: Face It

10 March to 5 June 2006

In Spring 2006 an extensive show of work by Gottfried Helnwein will be presented in the large exhibition hall of the Lentos Museum. Lentos thus organizes the artist's first museum show in Austria since he left the land of his birth in the mid-1980s – Helnwein was born in Vienna in 1948. After spending years in Germany, Helnwein now lives in Los Angeles and Ireland.

In Austria Helnwein is still remembered as a "provocateur" and "shock artist", as which he established himself a quarter of a century ago primarily through his cover pictures and illustrations for the news magazine Profil. The name Helnwein then stood for hyperreal depictions of wounded and deformed people, often children, and for citations from pictures from popular culture, especially from the world of Carl Barks ("Donald Duck").
 
In light of the substantial further development of his work in conjunction with new image treatments and the use of new media (digital photography, video), it is time for a comprehensive view of this oeuvre today. This is interesting, not least of all, in the context of a boom in new figurative painting and in light of the largely predominant references to media images and popular culture in more recent painting. An updated view of Helnwein's subject matter and his mode of production reveals an artist devoted primarily to moral, emancipatory motifs, whose place within so-called "political" art is only now recognizable to its full extent.

The exhibition presents around forty works from every phase of his creativity since the early 1970s. It is both a retrospective and a thematic show at the same time: the selection follows the subject of the human face as a leitmotif throughout Helnwein's oeuvre. This includes not only painting and drawing, but also digital photography, in part with a painterly treatment.

A catalogue will be published by Verlag Christian Brandstätter, Vienna.

The exhibition is realized with kind support from the Linz AG.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Foto von Gottfried Helnwein: Epiphany (Die Anbetung der Könige)

Gottfried Helnwein: Face It

Im großen Ausstellungssaal des Lentos Museums wird im Frühjahr 2006 eine umfassende Werkschau von Gottfried Helnwein präsentiert. Das Lentos organisiert damit die erste museale Schau des Künstlers in Österreich, seit er sein Geburtsland - Helnwein ist 1948 in Wien geboren - Mitte der 1980er Jahre verlassen hat. Nach Jahren in Deutschland ist Helnwein heute in Los Angeles und in Irland ansässig.

In Österreich ist Helnwein nach wie vor als "Provokateur" und "Schockkünstler" im Bewusstsein, als der er sich vor allem durch seine Titelbilder und Illustrationen für das Nachrichtenmagazin Profil vor einem Vierteljahrhundert etabliert hat. Der Name Helnwein stand damals für hyperrealistische Darstellungen verletzter und verunstalteter Menschen, oft Kinder, sowie für Bildzitate aus der Populärkultur, vornehmlich aus der Welt des Carl Barks ("Donald Duck").
 
Angesichts der substanziellen Weiterentwicklung seines Werks, verbunden mit neuen Bildfindungen und dem Einsatz neuer Medien (digitale Fotografie, Video) gilt es, dieses Oevre heute umfassend zu betrachten. Dies erscheint nicht zuletzt auch im Kontext eines Booms neuer figurativer Malerei und angesichts des weitgehend durchgesetzten Bezugs auf Medienbilder sowie auf Populärkultur in der jungen Malerei interessant. Mit einem aktualisierten Blick auf Helnweins Bildsujets und seine Produktionsweise ist ein Künstler zu entdecken, der sich in erster Linie moralischen, emanzipatorischen Motiven verpflichtet fühlt und dessen Platz innerhalb der sogenannten "politischen" Kunst in vollem Umfang erst anzuerkennen ist.

Die Ausstellung wird etwa vierzig Werke aus allen Schaffensperioden seit den frühen 1970er Jahren versammeln. Sie ist gleichzeitig Retrospektive und Themenschau: Die Auswahl wird das Sujet des menschlichen Gesichts als Leitmotiv durch das Gesamtwerk verfolgen. Malerei und Zeichnung sind dabei ebenso vertreten wie - zum Teil malerisch bearbeitete digitale Fotografie .

Wir empfehlen die Ausstellung für Jugendliche ab 14 Jahren.

Es erscheint ein Katalog im Verlag Christian Brandstätter, Wien.

Die Ausstellung wurde realisiert mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Linz AG.

Kulturerlebnis-Wochenende (PDF, 3,41 MB)
Gottfried Helnwein

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.