Page start

Content
Foto von Heinrich Heidersberger: Das Kraftwerk der Volkswagen AG

Heinrich Heidersberger: Work in Focus

9 January to 30 June 2006

The German photo artist Heinrich Heidersberger (born 06-10-1906 in Ingolstadt, died 07-14-2006) spent his youth in Linz, after his mother returned to the city of her birth with the children following the death of his father in 1911. Heinrich joined the "Wandervögel" movement. He became interested in natural sciences and cultivated his first cactuses. In 1925 he finished school in Linz with university study qualifications. Following a six-month traineeship in the transformer company of Koch & Sterzel in Dresden, he worked as a journeyman mason for the construction company Kremeyer in Linz. In 1927 he registered to study architecture in Graz. At the beginning of his artistic career as a painter, Heidersberger joined the Linz artists association Maerz. He traveled to Paris in 1928, where he attended Fernand Léger's painting school. During his stay in Linz in 1931, he and his friends founded the literary cabinet "Thermophylen". Following travels to Den Haag and Copenhagen, in 1936 Heidersberger was drawn to Berlin, where he worked as a freelance photo journalist. Only a year later he received major commissions for architectural photos, including from the Heinkel Aviation Plant in Oranienburg. After the war he initially got by as a translator and portrait artist. During the fifties Heidersberger worked as a photo journalist for the magazines "stern" and "Merian". A commission for a mural in the engineering school in Wolfenbüttel inspired him to develop the first "rhythmogrammes". For this, Heidersberger developed a special apparatus to record light traces directly onto photo material. With these works he positioned himself in the proximity to the Informel and Constructivism in terms of style.
After moving to Wolfsburg, where Heidersberger has lived since then, he founded the artist colony "Schloßstraße 8" with fellow painters. His photo works were already exhibited in Linz in 1962 and 1967 and again in 1987 in the New Gallery of the City of Linz. In 1987 the artist was awarded the Silver Plaque of the city of Wolfsburg, in 2003 he was made an honorary citizen of Wolfsburg.
In honor of Heinrich Heidersberger´s 100th birthday, the Lentos Art Museum presents the seven photo works that belong to Lentos, augmented by six more works on loan from the Heidersberger Institute in Wolfsburg.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Foto von Heinrich Heidersberger: Das Kraftwerk der Volkswagen AG

Heinrich Heidersberger: Werk im Fokus

Werk im Fokus anlässlich seines 100. Geburtstages

Der deutsche Fotokünstler Heinrich Heidersberger (*10.6.1906 in Ingolstadt, gest. 14.7.2006) verbringt seine Jugendjahre in Linz, wohin seine Mutter mit den Kindern nach dem Tod des Vaters 1911 übersiedelt. Heinrich tritt der Bewegung der Wandervögel bei. Er beginnt sich für Naturwissenschaften zu interessieren und züchtet seine ersten Kakteen. 1925 erwirbt er sein Abitur in Linz. Nach einem halbjährigen Praktikum in der Transformatorenfirma Koch & Sterzel in Dresden arbeitet er als Maurerpraktikant in der Baufirma Kremeyer in Linz. 1927 schreibt er sich für ein Architekturstudium in Graz ein. Mit dem Beginn seiner künstlerischen Karriere als Maler tritt Heidersberger der Linzer Künstlervereinigung Maerz bei. Er reist 1928 nach Paris, wo er die Malschule Fernand Légers besucht. Bei seinem Linzer Aufenthalt 1931 gründet er mit seinen Freunden das literarisches Kabinett "Thermophylen". Nach Reisen, die ihn nach Den Haag und Kopenhagen führen, zieht es Heidersberger 1936 in die Metropole Berlin, wo er als freier Bildjournalist tätig wird. Bereits ein Jahr später erhält er große Aufträge für Architekturfotos, u. a. vom Heinkel Flugzeugwerk in Oranienburg. Nach dem Krieg schlägt er sich zunächst als Dolmetscher und Porträtist durch. In den fünfziger Jahren wird Heidersberger als  Bildjournalist von den Zeitschriften "stern" und "Merian" engagiert. Ein Auftrag für ein Wandbild in der Ingenieurschule Wolfenbüttel regt ihn zur Entwicklung erster "Rhythmogramme" an. Heidersberger entwirft dafür einen eigenen Apparat, mit dessen Hilfe er Lichtspuren direkt auf Fotomaterial aufzeichnen kann.  Mit diesen Arbeiten positioniert er sich in der stilistischen Nähe des Informels und des Konstruktivismus.
Nach seiner Übersiedlung nach Wolfsburg, wo Heidersberger seither lebt, begründet er mit Malerkollegen die Künstlerkolonie "Schloßstraße 8". Seine Fotoarbeiten werden bereits 1962 und 1967 und noch einmal 1987 den Räumen der Neuen Galerie der Stadt der Stadt Linz ausgestellt. 1987 wird dem Künstler die silberne Plakette der Stadt Wolfsburg verliehen, 2003 erhält er die Ehrenbürgerschaft der Stadt Wolfsburg.
Anlässlich des 100. Geburtstags Heinrich Heidersbergers zeigt das Lentos Kunstmuseum die sieben Lentos-eigenen Fotoarbeiten, ergänzt um sechs weitere Exponate, Leihgaben des Instituts Heidersberger in Wolfsburg.


Text: Brigitte Reutner

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.