Page start

Content
Work by Edgar Arceneaux: Snake River

Edgar Arceneaux und Charles Gaines: Snake River

28 April to 13 August 2006

The exhibition centers around a new film by the two Californian artists, which Lentos is co-producing together with REDCAT, Los Angeles, and which will be filmed at locations in Linz, Los Angeles and the magnificent river landscape of the Snake River in Wyoming.

The film and the accompanying installation deal with three cultural spaces, weaving them into a dense network of mutual references: the Brucknerhaus in Linz, the Walt Disney Concert Hall/LA Philharmonic in Los Angeles and the over 1000 km long Snake River, one of the lifelines of the American West. In Linz a rehearsal will be filmed of the Bruckner Quartet with music by Anton Bruckner, while an ensemble from the LA Philharmonic devotes itself to music by the contemporary composer Thomas Ades. The film develops complex interlockings between historical and contemporary motifs, which mark significant phases in the connection of the two continents: the European and American industrialization and the parallel "conquest" of the American West, both resulting in lasting damage, whereas the pathos of progress predominates in the art / music of the 19th century.

In addition to other works by Arceneaux and Gaines, the exhibition "Snake River" at Lentos will present parts of the film as a work in progress. The final version will be presented in fall 2006 at REDCAT in Los Angeles.
A two-volume catalogue will be published, documenting the work of the two artists and the installations in Linz and Los Angeles.

Edgar Arceneaux (born 1972, lives and works in Los Angeles)
Charles Gaines (born 1944, lives and works in Los Angeles)

The project takes place in the framework of transform.eipcp.net  and with support from the Culture 2000 program of the European Union.

www.redcat.org

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Foto von Edgar Arceneaux: Snake River, 2005

Edgar Arceneaux und Charles Gaines: Snake River

Im Zentrum der Ausstellung steht ein neuer Film der beiden kalifornischen Künstler, den das Lentos gemeinsam mit REDCAT, Los Angeles, koproduziert, und der an Schauplätzen in Linz, Los Angeles und der grandiosen Flusslandschaft des Snake River in Wyoming gedreht wird.

Der Film und die begleitende Installation thematisieren drei Kulturräume und verflechten diese in ein dichtes Netz aus gegenseitigen Bezügen: das Brucknerhaus in Linz, die Walt Disney Concert Hall/LA Philharmonic in Los Angeles und den mehr als 1000 km langen Snake River, eine der Lebensadern des amerikanischen Westens. In Linz wird eine Probe des Brucknerquartetts mit Musik von Anton Bruckner gefilmt, während sich ein Ensemble der LA Philharmoniker der Musik des zeitgenössischen Komponisten Thomas Ades widmet. Der Film entwickelt komplexe Verschränkungen zwischen historischen und aktuellen Motiven, welche in der Verbindung der beiden Kontinente markante Phasen prägen: die europäische und amerikanische Industrialisierung und die parallele "Eroberung"des amerikanischen Westens, die nachhaltige Zerstörungen mit sich bringen, während in der Kunst / der Musik das Fortschrittspathos des 19. Jahrhunderts herrscht.

Die Ausstellung "Snake River" im Lentos wird neben anderen Arbeiten von Arceneaux und Gaines Teile des Films als work in progress vorstellen, während die endgültige Version im Herbst 2006 bei REDCAT in Los Angeles präsentiert wird.
Es erscheint ein zweibändiger Katalog, der das Werk der beiden Künstler sowie die Installationen in Linz und Los Angeles dokumentiert.

Edgar Arceneaux (geb. 1972, lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles)
Charles Gaines (geb. 1944, lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles)

Das Projekt findet im Rahmen von transform.eipcp.net und mit der Unterstützung des Kultur 2000 Programms der Europäischen Union statt.

www.redcat.org

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.