Page start

Content

A Shared Place. Sculptures and Objects

24 June to 5 November 2006

"The work to be realized is, in a sense, a shared place (un lieu commun), a mutual penetration of the outside world and the self. It can no longer be the object itself, and it can no longer be only the self alone. It has to be a (new) creation ..."
(Raymond Duchamp-Villon, 1924)
 
For a period of about four months "un lieu commun" will serve as the motto for an exhibition with several presentation locations in and around the Lentos Art Museum.
According to Duchamp-Villon, introspective sensations and perceptions of the reality surrounding us are an important impetus for the creative process - a statement that can also be applied to artistic creation in general.
The exhibition provides an overview of the three-dimensional works from the museum's own collection and sculptures by the forum metall in the Danube Park as the intermediate result of the city's fifty years of collecting.
In addition to the main exhibition in the large hall of the Lentos Museum with works by Joannis Avramidis, Manfred Erjautz, Julie Hayward, Alfred Hrdlicka, Brigitte Kowanz, Karl Prantl, Erwin Wurm among many others, sculptures and three-dimensional works by Erwin Reiter, Marko Lulic and Simon Wachsmuth will also be presented for the first time in various places in the museum.
The part of the city´s sculpture collection external to the museum includes the works by the forum metall (1977) in the Linz Danube Park, which have been restored with financial support from the Linz AG. Erwin Heerich's Aluminum Sculpture (1977), which was removed from the Danube Park when the Lentos was built, has been newly integrated in the forum metall ensemble in the Danube Park.

A new Collection Catalogue of the sculptures and objects of the Lentos Art Museum will be published for the exhibition (essays by: Stella Rollig, Brigitte Reutner, Peter Baum, Helmuth Gsöllpointner, € 28,-).

Concept: Brigitte Reutner

Opening: 23 June 2006, 7.00 p.m.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Foto von Hayward Julie: Sublimator

Ein gemeinsamer Ort. Skulpturen, Plastiken, Objekte

"Das zu verwirklichende Werk ist gewissermaßen ein gemeinsamer Ort (un lieu commun), eine gegenseitige Durchdringung der Außenwelt und des Ich. Es kann nicht mehr das Objekt selbst und es kann nicht mehr das Ich allein sein, es muß eine (neue) Schöpfung sein..."
(Raymond Duchamp-Villon, 1924)
 
Für den Zeitraum von etwa vier Monaten dient "un lieu commun" als Motto einer Ausstellung mit mehreren Präsentationsorten im und um das Lentos Kunstmuseum. 
Duchamp-Villon zufolge sind introspektive Empfindungen und Wahrnehmungen der uns umgebenden Realität ein wichtiger Antrieb des schöpferischen Prozesses - ein Statement, das sich auf das bildnerische Schaffen allgemein übertragen lässt.
Die Ausstellung bietet eine Zusammensicht von dreidimensionalen Werken aus der museumsinternen Sammlung und Plastiken des forum metall im Donaupark als Zwischenresultat fünfzigjähriger städtischer Sammlungstätigkeit.
Neben der Hauptausstellung im großen Saal des Lentos mit Werken von Joannis Avramidis, Manfred Erjautz, Julie Hayward, Alfred Hrdlicka, Brigitte Kowanz, Karl Prantl, Erwin Wurm u.v.a. erwarten die BesucherInnen erstmals präsentierte Skulpturen und Plastiken von Erwin Reiter, Marko Lulic und Simon Wachsmuth an verschiedenen Orten im Museum.
Zum museumsexternen Part der städtischen Skulpturensammlung zählen die Werke des forum metall (1977) im Linzer Donaupark, die mit finanzieller Unterstützung der Linz AG restauriert werden konnten. Erwin Heerichs Aluminiumplastik (1977), anlässlich des Lentos-Neubaus aus dem Donaupark entfernt, wurde in das Ensemble forum metall im Donaupark erneut integriert.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein neuer Sammlungskatalog der Skulpturen, Plastiken und Objekte des Lentos Kunstmuseum (Texte: Stella Rollig, Brigitte Reutner, Peter Baum, Helmuth Gsöllpointner, € 28,-).

Konzept: Brigitte Reutner

Eröffnung: Freitag, 23. Juni 2006, 19.00

Begleitprogramm zur Ausstellung

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.