Page start

Content
Work by Matt Mullican: House Model

MATT MULLICAN: Model Architecture

21 October 2005 to 19 February 2006

Matt Mullican (born 1951 in Santa Monica, California, lives in New York) is a multimedia artist in the broadest sense. The scope of his media and forms of expression is enormous, ranging from fragile models to to bulky sculptures, from reliefs to drawings, collages, light boxes, computer animations, glass works, video and performances.
Mullican essentially works on systematizing a subjective world view. To this end he has developed a system of pictograms as his personal model of a cosmology.

Lentos is the first Austrian museum – after the Vienna Secession in 1994 – to show a substantial survey of the work by this concept artist and sculptor, who is regarded as one of the most influential artists of his generation. The red thread running through several decades of his work is the concept of the model. The exhibition presents this specific aspect of Mullican's work, while simultaneously presenting a retrospective along one of the artist's important themes with works from the late eighties to the most recent productions.
Models are central to Mullican´s work. They serve more as a medium for conveying relationships between ideas and notions than for referring to (larger) realizations. In Lentos Mullican will provide an overview of these models in their highly diverse forms and formats, two - and three-dimensional, in such diverse media and material as paper, glass, textile, ceramics, wood and video works.
One of the most recent works, "Learning from that person´s work", consists of a room sequence of drawings created in conjunction with Mullican´s trance works: visitors enter, so to speak, the consciousness of a - "this" - person.
Whereas the use of models for visualizations is familiar in architecture and science, Mullican´s objects operate in the realm of imagining as models of ideas.

Mullican regards his lectures as a separate work format, which could be regarded as performances in their arrangement and intensity.

A catalogue will be published in the course of the exhibition by Hatje Cantz Verlag. A limited edition will be published with a specially developed work by Mullican (inquiries at the Lentos Museum).

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Foto von Matt Mullican: House Model

Matt Mullican: model architecture

21. Oktober 2005 - 19. Februar 2006

Matt Mullican (geb. 1951 in Santa Monica, Kalifornien, lebt in New York) ist ein multimedialer Künstler im weitesten Sinn. Die Bandbreite seiner Medien und Ausdrucksformen ist enorm, sie reicht von fragilen Modellen zu wuchtigen Skulpturen, von Reliefs zu Zeichnungen, Collagen, Leuchtkästen, Computeranimationen, Glasarbeiten, Video und Performances.
Mullican arbeitet im Wesentlichen an einer Systematisierung subjektiver Weltsicht. Dazu hat er ein System von Piktogrammen als persönliches Modell einer Kosmologie entwickelt.

Als erstes österreichisches Museum - nach der Wiener Secession 1994 - zeigt das Lentos einen substanziellen Überblick über das Werk des Konzeptkünstlers und Bildhauers, der als einer der einflussreichsten Künstler seiner Generation gilt. Der rote Faden durch mehrere Jahrzehnte ist dabei der Begriff des Modells. Die Ausstellung präsentiert diesen spezifischen Aspekt von Mullicans Arbeit, und gleichzeitig ist sie mit Werken von den späten 1980er Jahren bis zu ganz neuen Produktionen eine Retrospektive entlang eines wichtigen Themas des Künstlers.
Modelle sind zentral in Mullicans Werk. Sie dienen eher als Medium dafür, Beziehungen zwischen Ideen und Vorstellungen zu vermitteln, als auf (größere) Realisierungen zu verweisen. Im Lentos wird Mullican einen Überblick über diese Modelle in ihren höchst unterschiedlichen Formen und Formaten geben, zwei- und dreidimensional, in so diversen Medien und Materialien wie Papier, Glas, Textil, Keramik, Holz und Videoanimation.
Eine der jüngsten Arbeiten, "Learning from that person´s work" besteht aus einer Raumfolge aus Zeichnungen, die im Zusammenhang mit Mullicans Trance Arbeiten entstanden sind: Die BesucherInnen betreten gleichsam das Bewusstsein einer - "dieser" - Person.
Während man in Architektur und Wissenschaft an Visualisierungen durch Modelle gewöhnt ist, fungieren Mullicans Objekte im Reich der Vorstellungen als Modelle von Ideen.

Als eigenes Werkformat betrachtet Mullican seine Vorträge, die in ihrer Gestaltung und Intensität als Performances betrachtet werden können.

Im Lauf der Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog im Hatje Cantz Verlag. Eine limitierte Edition wird mit einer eigens entwickelten Arbeit Mullicans aufgelegt (Anfragen im Lentos Museum).

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.