Page start

Content
Volkmar Klien, sketch of the acoustic installation, 2018

RAUM LENTOS | Volkmar Klien

Strömen – Queren / Flowing – Crossing
A sound installation for a room with a view

15 June–10 September 2018


The LENTOS invites its visitors to an auditive journey in its Reading Room and installs the city’s soundscape in the museum. With his 8-channel audio installation, artist Volkmar Klien succeeds in fusing inside and outside and sight with hearing.

The Danube flows, people cross it. And some people simply watch what’s going on. Shielded from the noise of the bustle by the massive glass pane of the huge window of the LENTOS Reading Room, visitors enjoy a full view of the Nibelungen Bridge. The window attracts, directs and frames their gaze, while at the same time blocking the sound of the scene their eyes takes in. Visitors take a seat on a bench located in the middle of the Reading Room, where they are surrounded by eight loudspeakers. The speakers make the boundaries of audibility permeable along the interface between within and without marked by the glass pane. Microphones attached to the facade of the building pull the world outside the window into the room, where it is embedded in a multichannel electronic composition.

The senses of hearing and seeing – inextricably conjoined beyond questioning in everyday life – drift apart almost unnoticeably and take up their station at the centre of a hybrid sound environment constructed by loudspeakers.

Curator: Magnus Hofmüller


SHORT CV

Volkmar Klien (*1971 in Hollabrunn) spent his childhood and adolescence in Vienna under the spell of this city’s musical life, with its glorious traditions and antiquated rituals. Against this background he attempts today to expand the potential of composing, music making and listening far beyond classical concert setups. His interest in the multilayered connections between the different modes of human perception and the roles these modes play in the communal creation of reality have led him to explore a wide spectrum of audible as well as inaudible art. He is Professor of Composition at the Anton Bruckner Private University in Linz.

www.volkmarklien.com

Supported by

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Volkmar Klien, Skizze der Klanginstallation, 2018

RAUM LENTOS | Volkmar Klien

Strömen – Queren
Eine Klanginstallation für einen Ort mit Aussicht

15. Juni–10. September 2018

Das LENTOS lädt im Leseraum zur auditiven Reise und holt die akustische Klanglandschaft der Stadt ins Museum. Der Künstler Volkmar Klien verbindet durch eine 8-Kanal-Audio-Installation Innen mit Außen und Sehen mit Hören.

Die Donau strömt, Menschen queren sie. Und einige andere sehen dem Treiben zu. Vor dem direkten Klang der Dinge geschützt durch die massive Glasscheibe des viele Meter breiten Fensters im Lesesaal des LENTOS lässt sich die Nibelungenbrücke gut überblicken. Das Fenster eröffnet, richtet und rahmt den Blick, während es zugleich das Ohr vom Gesehenen trennt. Die BesucherInnen nehmen auf der Bank in der Mitte des Lesesaals Platz und sind dort von acht Lautsprechern umgeben, die eine Aufweichung der Grenzen der Hörbarkeit entlang der von der Scheibe gebildeten Schnittstelle zwischen Innen und Außen erlauben. Mit Hilfe von an der Außenfassade angebrachten Mikrofonen wird die Welt vor dem Fenster in den Raum geholt und dort in eine mehrkanalige elektronische Komposition eingebettet.

Hören und Sehen – im Alltag fraglos vereint – lösen sich fast unmerklich voneinander, und rücken  ins Zentrum  der aus Lautsprechern errichteten, hybriden Klangumgebung.

Kurator: Magnus Hofmüller


Kurzbiografie


Volkmar Klien (*1971 in Hollabrunn) verbrachte seine Kindheit und Jugend in Wien; fasziniert vom Musikleben dieser Stadt mit seinen gloriosen Traditionen und antiquierten Ritualen. Ausgehend von diesem Hintergrund versucht er heute die Möglichkeiten von Komponieren, Musizieren und Hören weit über  klassische Konzertsituationen hinaus zu erweitern. Sein Interesse an den vielschichtigen Verbindungen zwischen den verschiedenen Modi menschlicher Wahrnehmung und den Rollen, die diese in der gemeinschaftlichen Schöpfung von Wirklichkeit einnehmen, führt ihn in die unterschiedlichsten Bereiche hörbarer, wie auch unhörbarer, Kunst. Er ist Professor für Komposition an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität in Linz.

www.volkmarklien.com

Mit Unterstützung von