Page start

Content
Work by Asta Gröting: Parking

ASTA GRÖTING. Sculpture and Video

26 February to 9 May 2010

As soon as she finished her studies at the Art Academy Düsseldorf, the German artist Asta Gröting was already received as one of the leading positions in sculpture in the 1980s and exhibited world-wide. In the 1990s her work was marked by a media turn to the field of video art. Recently Gröting has increasingly devoted her attention to the production of objects again, so that she has meanwhile created a rich oeuvre in various media and material.

LENTOS is preparing the largest solo exhibition of the artist to date.
Sculptures from the late 1980s up to the present, video films and the extensive video series Die Innere Stimme/The Inner Voice, for which Gröting collaborated with international ventriloquists, are brought together in a survey show.

Asta Gröting's work is marked by an interest in living creatures, their physical and psychical presence, and in the conditions of different life plans.
Whether they are expansively large or discreetly integrated into the space, the sculptures are confident, material-conscious formulations of individual defining elements of complex systems. Whether internal organs of humans or animals are cast in glass or formed in latex, whether kinetic sculptures dominate the space with sparse movements, every form is based on a precise observation of existential physical or psychical processes. At the same time, an unveiling, an illumination takes place. The invisible is imbued with a material presence.

The exhibition will subsequently be shown at nbk. Neuer Berliner Kunstverein in a smaller version. A catalogue will be published with essays by Stella Rollig and Marius Babias and with numerous pictures of works.

Curator: Stella Rollig

Asta Gröting
1961 born in Herford, lives in Berlin
Studied at the Art Academy Düsseldorf with Klaus Rinke
Teacher at the Valand School of Fine Arts Göteborg, Städelschule Frankfurt, Academy of Fine Arts Munich, University of Kassel, the International Summer Academy in Salzburg and others
Since 2009 professor of sculpture at the Academy of Fine Arts Braunschweig
Numerous international exhibitions
Most recent solo exhibitions:
2009 Asta Gröting: Sculpture 1987 to 2008, Henry Moore Sculpture Institute, Leeds
2007 Galerie Martin Janda, Vienna
2006 The Inner Voice, MARTa, Herford
2003 The Inner Voice/ it seems too loud to come from so far, Freud Museum, London. The Inner Voice/ Dead Air, TQW, Vienna


http://www.astagroeting.de/

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Bild von Asta Gröting: Parken

ASTA GRÖTING. Skulptur und Video

26. Februar bis 9. Mai 2010

Die deutsche Künstlerin Asta Gröting ist bereits in den 1980er Jahren, unmittelbar nach ihrem Studium an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, als eine der führenden Positionen in der Skulptur rezipiert und international ausgestellt worden. Ihr Werk in den 1990er Jahren war geprägt von einer medialen Wendung in den Bereich der Videokunst. In jüngster Zeit hat Gröting sich wieder verstärkt der Produktion von Objekten gewidmet, so dass mittlerweile ein reichhaltiges Oeuvre in unterschiedlichen Medien und Materialien entstanden ist.

Das LENTOS bereitet die bis dato größte Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin vor.
Skulpturen aus den späten 1980er Jahren bis heute, Videofilme sowie die umfangreiche Videoserie Die Innere Stimme, für die Gröting mit internationalen BauchrednerInnen zusammengearbeitet hat, werden zur Gesamtschau versammelt.

Asta Grötings Arbeit ist geprägt vom Interesse an Lebewesen, ihrer physischen und psychischen Präsenz, sowie an den Bedingungen unterschiedlicher Lebensentwürfe.
Die Skulpturen, ob von ausladender Größe oder diskret in den Raum integriert, sind souveräne, materialbewusste Formulierungen von einzelnen definierenden Elementen komplexer Systeme. Ob innere Organe von Mensch oder Tier in Glas gegossen oder in Latex geformt werden, ob kinetische Skulpturen mit sparsamen Bewegungen den Raum bestimmen, jeder Formgebung liegt eine genaue Beobachtung existenzieller physischer oder psychischer Vorgänge zugrunde. Dabei findet eine Enthüllung, eine Erhellung statt. Das Unsichtbare erhält materielle Gegenwärtigkeit.

Die Ausstellung wird im Anschluss im nbk – Neuer Berliner Kunstverein in kleinerem Umfang gezeigt. Es erscheint ein Katalog mit Texten von Stella Rollig und Marius Babias sowie zahlreichen Werkdarstellungen.

Kuratorin: Stella Rollig


Asta Gröting
1961 geb. in Herford, lebt in Berlin
Studium an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf
Lehre u.a. an der Valand School of Fine Arts Göteborg, Städelschule Frankfurt, Akademie der Bildenden Künste München, Gesamthochschule Kassel sowie an der Internationalen Sommerakademie in Salzburg
Seit 2009 Professur für Bildhauerei an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig
Zahlreiche internationale Ausstellungen
Jüngste Einzelausstellungen:
2009 Asta Gröting: Sculpture 1987-2008, Henry Moore Sculpture Institute, Leeds
2007 Galerie Martin Janda, Wien
2006 The Inner Voice, MARTa, Herford
2003 The Inner Voice/ it seems too loud to come from so far, Freud Museum, London. The Inner Voice/ Dead Air, TQW, Wien


http://www.astagroeting.de/


KURATORINNENFÜHRUNG
mit Stella Rollig:
22. April 2010, 18 Uhr

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)