Page start

Content
Bild von Mathias Kessler: Ilulissat 001X

POINT OF INTERSECTION LINZ. Young Art and Masterpieces

30 May to 9 August 2009

The exhibition Point of Intersection explores the significance of Linz as a place where art is created and collected. In the surroundings of the Art University and Ars Electronica, Linz is not only a fascinating place for art productions, but also cultivates a vibrant practice of collecting modern and contemporary art. This is reflected in both the international orientation of the Lentos Collection and in the city purchases of contemporary art affiliated with Linz.

In Point of Intersection, the guest curators Dieter Buchhart and Johanna Schwanberg not only take a look at the regional art scene, but also virtually challenge the work from this scene with well known works from classical modernism all the way to contemporary art. In this way, the presentation is woven into a cultural history journey between the eras and between the various artistic media, which characterize both a new presentation of the Lentos Collection and a presentation of exciting young and younger artists affiliated with Linz.

At the same time, the curators raise questions illuminating the parallels and divergences between works from different eras. What links a landscape painting by Caspar David Friedrich (1774–1840) with a nature photograph by Mathias Kessler (b. 1968), and how does the video that "gets under your skin" by the Linz Art University graduate Karin Fisslthaler (b. 1981) stand up to Egon Schiele's (1890–1918) radical, painterly self-scrutinizing?

The confrontations result in cross-connections and new perspectives: for instance, a profound engagement with human existence is just as inherent to the portraits by Oskar Kokoschka or Maria Lassnig as to those by Irma Kapeller or Herwig Kempinger. Landscape serves not only Caspar David Friedrich and Max Klinger, but also young, contemporary artists such as Mathias Kessler or Julie Monaco as a window to the understanding of nature in their time, thus forming a mirror of the respective society both in the 19th and in the 21st century.

In a diversity of media, fascinating connections unfold in eight thematic areas, such as the portrait, abstraction, landscape and science. There is a special focus on works dealing with socially relevant issues (migration, identity, social issues, globalization, gender issues) and on intermedia, artistic approaches (art and science, text and image, painting and sculpture). 


Dr. Johanna Schwanberg (born in 1966 in Vienna) Art and literature critic, curator, university lecturer.
Since 1996 Assistant Professor for Art Studies and Aesthetics at the Institute of Art Studies and Philosophy of the Catholic Theological Private University (KTU) Linz, and art and literature critic for "Parnass", for the feature section "spectrum" in the daily newspaper "Die Presse", for the feature section of the weekly newspaper "Die Furche", and others. Since 1998 curatorial and/or academic collaboration on exhibitions throughout Austria and abroad. Since 2004 she has contributed to the radio program "Thoughts for the Day."

Dr. Dieter Buchhart (born in Vienna in 1971) Curator, art theorist and artist, Director of the Kunsthalle Krems.
1990 - 2000 studied biology and art history. Curator of numerous exhibitions in renowned institutions in Austria and abroad. Since 1999 numerous monographs and interviews as editor of Kunstforum International. Author of numerous catalogue and journal essays as art theorist. Practicing artist since 2000 with solo exhibitions in Austria and abroad. Director of the Kunsthalle Krems since 2007.
 

The exhibition is supported by Volksbank Linz+Mühlviertel.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Bild von Mathias Kessler: Ilulissat 001X

KREUZUNGSPUNKT LINZ. Junge Kunst und Meisterwerke

30.5. bis 9.8.2009

Die Ausstellung Kreuzungspunkt Linz setzt sich mit der Bedeutung von Linz als Entstehungs- und Sammlungsort von Kunst auseinander. Denn Linz ist im Umfeld der Kunstuniversität und der Ars Electronica nicht nur ein spannender Ort für Kunstproduktionen, sondern pflegt auch eine lebendige Praxis im Sammeln von Kunst der Moderne und Gegenwart. Dies spiegelt sich sowohl in der international orientierten Sammlung des Lentos als auch in den Stadtankäufen von aktueller Kunst mit Linzbezug.

Die GastkuratorInnen Dieter Buchhart und Johanna Schwanberg werfen in Kreuzungspunkt Linz nicht nur einen Blick auf die regionale Kunstszene, sondern fordern deren Arbeiten mit bekannten Werken der klassischen Moderne bis hin zu Zeitgenössischem geradezu heraus. Derart verwebt sich die Präsentation zur kulturhistorischen Reise zwischen den Zeiten und zwischen den verschiedenen künstlerischen Medien, die sowohl eine Neupräsentation der Sammlung des Lentos als auch eine Vorstellung spannender junger und jüngerer KünstlerInnen mit Linzbezug bezeichnet.

Dabei werfen die KuratorInnen Fragestellungen auf, die die Parallelen wie Divergenzen zwischen Werken unterschiedlicher Epochen spannungsvoll beleuchten: Was verbindet ein Landschaftsgemälde von Caspar David Friedrich (1774–1840) mit einer Naturfotografie von Mathias Kessler (geb. 1968) und wie behauptet sich das "unter die Haut gehende" Video der Linzer Kunstuniabsolventin Karin Fisslthaler (geb. 1981) gegenüber Egon Schieles (1890–1918) radikalen, malerischen Selbstergründungen?
Durch die Konfrontationen ergeben sich Querverbindungen und neue Sichtweisen: So ist den Bildnissen Oskar Kokoschkas oder Maria Lassnigs die tiefgehende Auseinandersetzung mit der menschlichen Existenz ebenso intensiv zu eigen wie jener von Irma Kapeller oder Herwig Kempinger. Auch die Landschaft dient Caspar David Friedrich und Max Klinger ebenso wie jungen, zeitgenössischen KünstlerInnen wie Mathias Kessler oder Julie Monaco als ein Fenster in das Naturverständnis ihrer Zeit und bildet somit sowohl im 19. wie auch im 21. Jahrhundert einen Spiegel der jeweiligen Gesellschaft.

In medialer Vielfalt entwickeln sich spannende Zusammenhänge in acht Themenbereichen wie dem Porträt, der Abstraktion, der Landschaft oder der Wissenschaft. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf Arbeiten zu gesellschaftsrelevanten Fragestellungen (Migration, Identität, Soziales, Globalisierung, Genderfragen) sowie auf medienübergreifenden, künstlerischen Ansätzen (Kunst und Wissenschaft, Text und Bild, Malerei und Skulptur).


Dr.in Johanna Schwanberg (1966 geb. in Wien)
Kunst- und Literaturkritikerin, Kuratorin sowie Universitätslehrende
Seit 1996 Universitätsassistentin für Kunstwissenschaft und Ästhetik am Institut für Kunstwissenschaft und Philosophie der Katholisch-Theologischen Privatuniversität (KTU) Linz und Kunst- und Literaturkritikerin für "Parnass", für das Feuilleton "spectrum" der Tageszeitung "Die Presse", für das Feuilleton der Wochenzeitung "Die Furche" u. a. Seit 1998 Kuratierung und/oder wiss. Mitarbeit von/an Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland. Seit 2004 Beiträge für die Radiosendung "Gedanken für den Tag", Ö1.

DDr. Dieter Buchhart (1971 geb. in Wien)
Kurator, Kunsttheoretiker und Künstler, Direktor der Kunsthalle Krems
1990-2000 Studien der Biologie und Kunstgeschichte. Als Kurator von zahlreichen Ausstellungen in renommierten Institutionen im In- und Ausland. Seit 1999 als Redakteur des Kunstforum International (seit 1999) zahlreiche Monografien und Interviews. Als Kunsttheoretiker Verfasser zahlreicher Katalog und Zeitschriftenartikel. Seit 2000 als Künstler Einzelausstellungen im In- und Ausland. Seit 2007 Direktor der Kunsthalle Krems.


Führungen mit den KuratorInnen:

Johanna Schwanberg: 25. Juni 2009, 19 Uhr

Dieter Buchhart: 16. Juli 2009, 19 Uhr


Die Ausstellung wird unterstützt von der Volksbank Linz + Mühlviertel.    

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)