Page start

Content
Work by Siegfried A. Fruhauf: Soccer TV Test Pattern

Living in the Penalty Area

13 June to 17 August 2008
A project by qujOchÖ for the UEFA Euro 2008

From 7 to 29 June 2008 the football European Championship takes place in Switzerland and Austria. In this context, the exhibition Living in the Penalty Area by the Linz artist group qujOchÖ at the Lentos attempts to intervene in this gigantic football machinery. Even though this enormous spectacle penetrates deep into everyday life, Living in the Penalty Area will concentrate on the essence of football: moves and strategies – in short: what actually happens on the playing field. Video projections of important games will be created using aesthetic reduction, minimalist representations of complex game plays and movements, with network analyses, statistical data and depictions of compressions and energy.

Throughout the duration of the European Championship 2008, it will be possible to experience Living in the Penalty Area both in and around the Lentos. The 60-meter long open space cut out of the Lentos building will be adapted as playing field and defined as "penalty area". With a length of 60 meters, this spaces corresponds to the space of half a football field. In this "penalty area" there will be performative interventions on the one hand, on the other the utilization concept and the spatial architecture of this artificial football field will be actively used in the form of an inviting football living room for interested passers-by and visitors.

Under the covered open area of Lentos, several deciding scenes from past matches will be replayed on each of three days:

– Austria–Croatia (performance at the opening of the exhibition on Thursday, 12 June 2008, beginning at 6 p.m.)
– Netherlands–France (Sunday, 15 June 2008, 2 to 5 p.m.)
– the winner of Group B against the second from Group A (Sunday, 22 June 2008, 2 to 5 p.m.)

In a roughly one-hour performance, a team of surveyors will place markings on the playing field indicating the decisive game moves from the previous game. The game then begins when the referee blows the whistle. A marking cart driven by a groundskeeper, normally used to draw the markings in the playing field, traces the movement of the ball in game-deciding plays on the grass. The course of the cart exactly follows the plays in space and time. The result is an abstract image of lines. The work of the survey team and the groundskeeper will be carried out by the artist group qujOchÖ (Doris Prlic, Martin Böhm, Andre Zogholy, Magnus Hofmüller, Johannes Dichtinger, Andreas Reichl, Andreas Kurz, Thomas Philipp).

The content and theme of the "penalty area" are linked with the exhibition inside Lentos. The exhibition includes documentation of the performative interventions (visualizations) and single works by artists (installations, video works, experimental art):

  • turntable soccer (qujOchÖ)
  • Soccer TV Test Pattern (Siegfried A. Fruhauf)
  • Red Peaks and Green Spotted Ball (Karo Szmit)
  • Bist du zu lieb, bist du verloren (Taife Akca/Thomas Philipp)
  • The past of the future (Christine Pilsl/Mika Satomi/Stefan Schilcher/Ingo Randolf)
  • Ein österreichisches Fußball-Orakel: Die Prohaska-Schneckerl (Mario Sinnhofer)
  • Der Zeitmesser (Leo Peschta)

qujOchÖ are Martin Böhm, Johannes Dichtinger, Magnus Hofmüller, Andreas Kurz, Thomas Philipp, Doris Prlic, Andreas Reichl, Lydia Thanner and Andre Zogholy.
www.qujOchOE.org


 

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Bild von Siegfried A. Fruhauf: Soccer TV Test Pattern

Leben im Strafraum

13.6. bis 17.8.2008

Ein Projekt von qujOchÖ für die UEFA Euro

Von 7. bis 29. Juni 2008 findet die Fußball-Europameisterschaft in der Schweiz und in Österreich statt. Die Ausstellung Leben im Strafraum, initiert und kuratiert von der Linzer KünstlerInnengruppe qujOchÖ, im Lentos Kunstmuseum unternimmt in diesem Zusammenhang den Versuch, in diese riesige Fußball-Maschinerie einzugreifen. Auch wenn das Riesenspektakel Euro 08 bis tief in den Alltag eindringt, wird sich Leben im Strafraum auf die Essenz von Fußball konzentrieren: Spielzüge und Strategien – kurz: das, was auf dem Spielfeld abläuft. Videoprojektionen von wichtigen Spielen werden mittels ästhetischer Reduktion, minimalistischen Veranschaulichungen von komplexen Spielverläufen und Bewegungsabläufen, Netzwerkanalysen, statistischen Daten und Darstellungen von Verdichtungen erzeugt.

Leben im Strafraum wird zur Dauer der Euro 08 sowohl in als auch um das Linzer Lentos Kunstmuseumzu erfahren sein. Die aus dem Bau des Lentos herausgeschnittene, 60 Meter lange Vorhalle im Freien wird als Spielfeld adaptiert und als "Strafraum" definiert. Mit seiner Länge von 60 Metern entspricht dieser Raum der Hälfte eines Fußballfeldes. Einerseits werden in diesem "Strafraum" performative Inszenierungen statt finden, andererseits sieht das Nutzungskonzept und die Raumarchitektur dieses artifiziellen Fußballplatzes eine aktive Nutzung in Form eines einladenden Fußballwohnzimmers für interessierte PassantInnen und BesucherInnen vor.

An drei Tagen werden unter der Vorhalle des Lentos jeweils einige spielentscheidende Szenen von bereits geführten Partien nachgespielt:

- Österreich – Kroatien (Performance bei der Eröffnung der Ausstellung am Donnerstag, 12. Juni 2008, ab 18 Uhr)
- Niederlande – Frankreich (Sonntag, 15. Juni 2008, 14 bis 17 Uhr)
- Sieger der Gruppe B gegen den Zweiten der Gruppe A (Sonntag, 22. Juni 2008, 14 bis 17 Uhr)

In einer rund einstündigen Performance werden dabei Markierungen für die entscheidenden Spielzüge der Vortagspartie von einem Vermessungsteam auf dem Spielfeld angebracht. Mit dem Pfiff des Schiedsrichters beginnt anschließend das Spiel. Ein von einem Platzwart geführter Markierwagen, der im Normalfall zum Ziehen der Spielfeldmarkierungen verwendet wird, zeichnet die Bewegung des Balles bei spielentscheidenden Zügen auf der Rasenfläche nach. Die Fahrt des Wagens folgt räumlich und zeitlich exakt den Spielzügen der ausgewählten Szenen. Ein abstraktes Bild aus Linien entsteht. Die Arbeiten des Vermessungsteams und des Platzwartes werden dabei von der KünstlerInnengruppe qujOchÖ durchgeführt.
 
Inhaltlich und thematisch verbunden mit dem "Strafraum" ist die Ausstellung im Inneren des Lentos. Hier finden sich Dokumentationen der performativen Inszenierungen (Visualisierungen) und Einzelarbeiten von KünstlerInnen (Installationen, Videoarbeiten, Experimentelle Kunst):

- turntable soccer (qujOchÖ)
- Soccer TV Test Pattern (Siegfried A. Fruhauf)
- Red Peaks and Green Spotted Ball (Karo Szmit)
- Bist du zu lieb, bist du verloren (Taife Akca/Thomas Philipp)
- Der Zukunft Vergangenheit (Christine Pilsl/Mika Satomi/Stefan Schilcher/Ingo Randolf)
- Ein österreichisches Fußball-Orakel: Die Prohaska-Schneckerl (Mario Sinnhofer)
- Der Zermesser (Leo Peschta)

qujOchÖ sind Martin Böhm, Johannes Dichtinger, Magnus Hofmüller, Andreas Kurz, Thomas Philipp, Doris Prlic, Andreas Reichl, Lydia Thanner und Andre Zogholy.
http://www.qujochoe.org/  

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)