Page start

Content
Bild von Ursula Mayer: The Crystal Gaze

Ursula Mayer. Zeitkristalle / The Crystals of Time

5 Ocober 2007 to 17 February 2008

The exhibition The Crystals of Time offers a concentrated insight into Ursula Mayer's current film work. Mayer's most recent film The Crystal Gaze (2007) is presented here for the first time. The trilogy Portland Place 33, Keeling House and Villa Mairea (2005/06) can be seen in a thematic conjunction with this most recent work.

In the three short works of the trilogy Ursula Mayer exhibits the basic elements of the filmic: the setting, the protagonist, the camera movement. The selected locations are charged with historical, social and ideological facts and references: a Victorian townhouse, a residential tower in London from the 1950s, a modernist private villa in Finland. Complex interactions evolve here between a woman, the spaces and the camera. No stringent narrative results from the fragmented actions, yet the viewers are drawn into a fascinating network of fictions, looks, gestures, forms and the suggestive soundtrack in an ellipsis of time.
In The Crystal Gaze, shot in the art deco rooms of Eltham Palace in London, Mayer works with a script for the first time. Narrative and visual parallels are drawn to the tradition of the classical Hollywood film, and a cinematic role play of power relations between actresses is mirrored and framed by the opulent elegance of the historical setting.

Ursula Mayer, born 1970 in Upper Austria. Studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna, at the Royal College of Art and at Goldsmith College in London. International exhibitions since 1996. Lives and works in London.

For their generous support for the realization of The Crystal Gaze the artist thanks Giorgio Fasol, Valentino Barbierato and Gallery Monitor, Rome.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Bild von Ursula Mayer: The Crystal Gaze

Ursula Mayer Zeitkristalle / The Crystals of Time

5.10.2007 bis 17.2.2008

Die Ausstellung Zeitkristalle gibt einen konzentrierten Einblick in das aktuelle filmische Werk von Ursula Mayer. Erstmals präsentiert wird dabei Mayers jüngster Film The Crystal Gaze (2007). In thematischem Zusammenhang mit diesem neuesten Werk ist die Trilogie Portland Place 33, Keeling House und Villa Mairea (2005/06) zu sehen.

In den jeweils kurzen Arbeiten der Trilogie stellt Ursula Mayer Grundelemente des Filmischen aus: den Schauplatz, eine Protagonistin, die Kamerabewegung. Die ausgewählten Drehorte sind aufgeladen mit historischen, sozialen und ideologischen Fakten und Bezügen: ein viktorianisches Stadthaus, ein Londoner Wohnblock der 1950er Jahre, eine modernistische Privatvilla in Finnland. Hier entspinnen sich komplexe Interaktionen zwischen einer Frau, den Räumen und der Kamera. Fragmentierte Aktionen ergeben keine stringente Erzählung, doch werden die BetrachterInnen in ein faszinierendes Netz aus Fiktionen, Blicken, Gesten und Formen und der suggestiven Tonspur In einer Ellipse von Zeit gebannt.
In The Crystal Gaze, gedreht in den Art Deco Räumen des Londoner Eltham Palace, arbeitet Mayer erstmals mit einem Skript. Narrative und visuelle Parallelen werden zu der Tradition des klassischen Hollywood Films gezogen, ein cinematisches Rollenspiel von Machtbeziehungen zwischen Schauspielerinnen wird gerahmt und gespiegelt in der opulenten Eleganz des historischen Settings.

Ursula Mayer, geb. 1970 in Oberösterreich. Studium an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien, am Royal College of Art sowie am Goldsmith College in London. Seit 1996 internationale Ausstellungen. Lebt und arbeitet in London.

Für großzügige Unterstützung der Realisierung von The Crystal Gaze dankt die Künstlerin Giorgio Fasol, Valentino Barbierato und Gallery Monitor, Rom.

Ian White. Kristallblicke (PDF, 28 KB)

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)