Page start

Content
Work by Anton Kolig: Das Vergehen

Masterpieces

Permanent Collection

Achenbach, Andri, Appel, Bischof, Carus, Corinth, Egger, Eisenschitz, Feuerbach, Friedrich, Frohner, Gurlitt, Heckel, Hofer, Hoffmann, Hörmann, Kirchner, Klimt, Kokoschka, Kolig, Kurzweil, Lang, Lenbach, Liebermann, Loos, Makart, Masson, Modersohn-Becker, Mueller, Münther, Nolde, Pechstein, Prachensky, Rebell, Reiter, Romako, Schiele, Schindler, Schmidt-Rottluff, Schuch, Schumacher, Staudacher, Thelott, Thoma, Thöny, Trübner, Werefkin.

An overview of classic works from the Lentos Collection is displayed for the first time in the south wing of the museum - an art-historical promenade through the museum's manifold holdings from the 19th and 20th century.

A journey into the depot of a rich historical collection ranging between the major styles and generations of classic artists, revealing all that painting and graphic arts were capable of in their abundance from 1820 to immediately after World War II in Central Europe. Fascinating comparisons, many new discoveries and a most recently acquired late work by Anton Kolig, donated by the Association of Friends of the Lentos Art Museum, in the Who's Who of names and in the confrontation with almost a hundred masterpieces of classical art history.

51 paintings and 24 outstanding drawings and graphic works reveal the historical emphases and acquisitions of the collection founded by Wolfgang Gurlitt in 1947 and continued under his direction until 1953 as the Collection of the New Gallery of the City of Linz.

Landscape, genre and portrait painting of the 19th century is represented with masterpieces from German Romanticism (Caspar David Friedrich, Carl Gustav Carus), from the Austrian Biedermeier (Johann Baptist Reiter and Friedrich Loos), from German and Austrian Historicism (Hans Markart, Anton Romako, Anselm Feuerbach, Franz von Lenbach) and Austrian Mood Impressionism (Emil J. Schinder and Theodor von Hörmann).

Another prominent feature of the collection are outstanding works from Viennese and Berliner Secessionism. In addition to artworks by Lovis Corinth, Wilhelm Trübner and Gustav Klimt, an exquisite selection of paintings, drawings, watercolors and print graphic works (Erich Heckel, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Max Pechstein, Otto Mueller, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff and Emil Nolde) is presented in the newly designed "Brücke" Cabinet, which has been set up to mark the 100th anniversary of the artists association.

Austrian Expressionism is represented with groups of works by Egon Schiele, Oskar Kokschka, Anton Kolig, Gustav Thöny, Jean Egger and Willy Eisenschitz. Current anniversaries determine the Work in Focus: "Linz Landscape" by Oskar Kokoschka and the "Portrait of Mayor Dr. Ernst Koref" by Max Weiler, both commissioned by the Linz city government fifty years ago.

The tour through the history of style concludes with a bridge to the special exhibition "The Spirit of Pop" composed of paintings from Abstract Expressionism by Karel Appel, Peter Bischof, Emil Schumacher, André Masson, Adolf Frohner, Markus Prachensky sowie Hans Staudacher , which are especially distinguished by the characteristically expressive-abstract language of color and form and spontaneous, vehement modes of painting.

A special highlight of the presentation is the large format portrait of the Viennese building contractor family Scheger, created in 1842, which is an important work of plein air painting by Johan Baptist Reiter, who was born in Linz. This significant family portrait from the Austrian Biedermeier era is on loan from the Nordico City Museum, illustrating once again the synergies between these two city museums.
Another highlight of the new presentation are two important paintings by Gustav Klimt, which are on loan to Lentos from a private collection for the duration of the exhibition.

A quotation from Caspar David Friedrich which still held true far into the 20th century:
"the painter should not just paint what he sees before him, but also what he sees inside himself"
has been made the overall motto for a presentation that attempts to treat the art of the 19th century, using examples from Austria and Germany, so that it no longer appears to be a "confused image whose history must be rewritten every ten years" (Max Friedländer), as a "tragic matter" (Richard Hamann) or as a "tangle" of contradictions (Ludwig Justi).
The "powerful disunity" of painting of the 19th century, the necessary break with the closed standards and styles, the oscillation between idealism and realism, contributed much to the liberation of art in the 20th century from today's perspective.

Elisabeth Nowak-Thaller

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Gemälde von Anton Kolig: Das Vergehen

Meisterwerke aus der Sammlung: Vom Biedermeier bis zur 2. Republik

Dauerpräsentation

Achenbach, Andri, Appel, Bischof, Carus, Corinth, Egger, Eisenschitz, Feuerbach, Friedrich, Frohner, Gurlitt, Heckel, Hofer, Hoffmann, Hörmann, Kirchner, Klimt, Kokoschka, Kolig, Kurzweil, Lang, Lenbach, Liebermann, Loos, Makart, Masson, Modersohn-Becker, Mueller, Münther, Nolde, Pechstein, Prachensky, Rebell, Reiter, Romako, Schiele, Schindler, Schmidt-Rottluff, Schuch, Schumacher, Staudacher, Thelott, Thoma, Thöny, Trübner, Werefkin.

Die Klassiker aus der Sammlung des Lentos erstmals im Überblick in der Südflanke - ein kunstgeschichtlicher Parcours durch die vielfältigen Museumsbestände des 19. und beginnenden 20. Jahrhunderts.

Eine Reise in das Depot einer reichen historischen Sammlung, um vermittelnd zwischen den großen Stilen und Klassiker-Generationen all das aufzuzeigen, was Malerei und Grafik in ihrer Fülle von 1820 bis unmittelbar nach dem 2. Weltkrieg in Mitteleuropa vermag.
Spannende Vergleiche, viele Neuentdeckungen und eine jüngst erfolgte Neuerwerbung eines Spätwerkes von Anton Kolig, eine Stiftung des Vereins der Freunde des Kunstmuseum Lentos, im Who is Who der Namen und in der Konfrontation mit Meisterwerken der klassischen Kunstgeschichte.

Anhand von 61 Gemälden und 24 hochkarätigen Zeichnungen bzw. Grafiken erschließen sich die historischen Schwerpunkte und Ankäufe der von Wolfgang Gurlitt 1947 gegründeten und bis 1953 geleiteten Sammlung der Neuen Galerie der Stadt Linz. Zwei Skulpturen von Anton Hanak und Anthony Cragg ergänzen die Neupräsentation des Großen Saals.

So ist die Landschafts-, Genre- und Portraitmalerei des 19. Jahrhunderts mit Meisterwerken der deutschen Romantik (Caspar David Friedrich, Carl Gustav Carus), des österreichischen Biedermeiers (Johann Baptist Reiter, Friedrich Loos), des deutschen und österreichischen Historismus (Hans Makart, Anton Romako, Anselm Feuerbach, Franz von Lenbach) und des österreichischen Stimmungsimpressionismus (Emil J. Schinder und Theodor von Hörmann) vertreten.

Ein weiterer Hauptaspekt der Sammlung sind hochkarätige Werke des Wiener und Berliner Secessionismus. Neben Werken von Lovis Corinth, Wilhelm Trübner und Gustav Klimt wird im neu gestalteten Brücke-Kabinett, das anlässlich des 100-jährigen Jubiläums der Künstlervereinigung eingerichtet wurdde, eine kostbare Auswahl von Gemälden, Zeichnungen, Aquarellen und Druckgraphiken (Erich Heckel, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Max Pechstein, Otto Mueller, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff und Emil Nolde) präsentiert.

Der österreichische Expressionismus ist durch Werkgruppen von Egon Schiele, Oskar Kokoschka, Anton Kolig, Gustav Thöny, Jean Egger und Willy Eisenschitz vertreten. Als Bild im Fokus fungieren aufgrund aktueller Jubiläen die "Linzer Landschaft" von Oskar Kokoschka und das "Porträt Bürgermeister Dr. Ernst Koref" von Max Weiler, beide vor 50 Jahren von der Linzer Stadtverwaltung in Auftrag gegeben.
Einen Abschluss des stilgeschichtlichen Rundganges und Brückenschlag zur Sonderausstellung "the spirit of pop" bilden die Gemälde des Abstrakten Expressionismus von Karel Appel, Peter Bischof, Emil Schumacher, André Masson, Adolf Frohner, Markus Prachensky sowie Hans Staudacher, die sich durch charakteristische expressiv-abstrakte Farb- und Formensprache und durch spontane, heftige Malweise auszeichnen.

Ein besonderes Glanzstück der Präsentation stellt das 1842 entstandene, großformatige Bildnis der Wiener Baumeisterfamilie Schegar, ein Hauptwerk der Freilichtmalerei des in Linz geborenen Johann Baptist Reiter dar. Dieses wichtige Familienbildnis des österreichischen Biedermeiers ist eine Leihgabe des Stadtmuseums Nordico und verweist einmal mehr auf die Synergien zwischen diesen beiden städtischen Museen.
Ein weiterer Höhepunkt der Neupräsentation sind zwei wichtige Gemälde von Gustav Klimt, die aus Privatbesitz dem Lentos für die Ausstellungsdauer geliehen wurden.

Caspar David Friedrichs bis weit ins 20. Jahrhundert gültige Zitat:
"der Maler soll nicht bloß malen, was er vor sich sieht, sondern auch was er in sich sieht"
wurde zum Gesamtmotto einer Präsentation, die versucht, die Kunst des
19. Jahrhunderts anhand von exemplarischen Beispielen aus Österreich und Deutschland nicht mehr als "wirres Bild deren Geschichte alle 10 Jahre neu geschrieben wird" (Max Friedländer), als "tragische Angelegenheit" (Richard Hamann) oder als "Wirrsal von Widersprüchen" (Ludwig Justi) zu behandeln.
Die "machtvolle Uneinheitlichkeit" der Malerei des 19. Jahrhunderts, der notwendige Bruch mit den geschlossenen Wertmaßstäben und Stilen, das Schwanken zwischen Idealismus und Realismus, trug aus heutiger Sicht, viel zur Befreiung der Kunst im 20. Jahrhundert bei.

Elisabeth Nowak-Thaller

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)