Page start

Content
Work by Franz Gertsch: Saintes Maries de la Mer III

Great Paintings

28 June to 28 October 2007


Summer Exhibitions under the Banner of the Lentos Collection.

Great, greater, greatest, ...
Center stage for masterpieces of painting and graphic arts from the museum collection – naturally in the large exhibition hall.
Large format and top quality works, paintings and drawings from the museum holdings are the focal point of this show that offers a new perspective of different style directions in recent art since 1945 up to the present.

Meditative, abstract expressions from the 1980s and 1990s by Herbert Brandl, Hubert Scheibl, Kurt Kocherscheidt, Gunter Damisch and Otto Zitko, for instance, represent an important focal point of the collection. Brandl´s nomination as Austrian representative at the  Biennale di Venezia and the presence of these artists in the most diverse exhibitions bear witness to contemporary interest in the former "young wild ones".

The strong trend of figurative painting is represented by the Swiss hyperrealist Franz Gertsch, whose girls on the beach are still enchanting and surprising, as well as current acquisitions of work by the Dutch artist Vanessa Jane Phaff or the young Austrian Bruno Hoffmann. Johanna Kandl´s politically incisive paintings, like the paintings of the Vienna based Martin Schnur, are based on photos. The German "prince of painters" Markus Lüpertz whisks us away into a dubious "paradise".

The pluralism of painting since 1945 is expanded with provocative pictures by the Viennese Actionists Hermann Nitsch and Otto Mühl, and with a monumental "pour painting" by Markus Prachensky.

In addition to canvases, many of them presented for the first time in the "best light", the informative series of this major collection presentation is rounded out by a selection of subtle drawings by Peter Hauenschild/Georg Ritter, Uli Aigner, Tobias Pils and others.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Bild von Franz Gertsch: Saintes Maries de la Mer III

Grosse Malerei

28.6. bis 28.10.2007

Die Sommer Ausstellungen stehen ganz im Zeichen der Lentos-Sammlung.
Eröffnung am Mittwoch, 27.6.2007, 19 Uhr

Groß, größer, am größten, ...
Auftritt für Meisterwerke der Malerei und Graphik aus der Museumssammlung - selbstverständlich im großen Ausstellungssaal.
Großformatiges und Hochkarätiges, Gemälde sowie Zeichnungen aus den eigenen Beständen stehen im Mittelpunkt dieser Schau, die einen neuen Blick auf unterschiedliche stilistische Richtungen der jüngeren Kunst nach 1945 bis zur Gegenwart gibt.

Meditative, abstrakte Expressionen der 1980er und 1990er Jahre von Herbert Brandl, Hubert Scheibl, Kurt Kocherscheidt, Gunter Damisch oder Otto Zitko stellen einen wichtigen Sammlungsschwerpunkt dar. Die Nominierung Brandls als österreichischer Vertreter auf der Biennale di Venezia sowie die Präsenz dieser Künstler im Ausstellungsbetrieb bezeugen das aktuelle Interesse an den ehemals "Jungen Wilden".

Die stark im Trend liegende figurative Malerei ist durch den Schweizer Hyperrealisten Franz Gertsch, dessen Mädchen am Meeresstrand immer noch bezaubern und verblüffen, wie durch aktuelle Ankäufe der Holländerin Vanessa Jane Phaff oder des jungen Österreichers Bruno Hoffmann vertreten. Johanna Kandls politisch pointierte Gemälde gehen, wie die Malereien des in Wien lebenden Martin Schnur auf Fotos zurück. Der deutsche "Malerfürst" Markus Lüpertz entführt uns in ein zweifelhaftes "Paradies".

Der Pluralismus der Malerei nach 1945 wird ergänzt durch provokante Bilder der Wiener Aktionisten Hermann Nitsch, Otto Mühl und durch ein monumentales Schüttbild von Markus Prachensky.

Neben Leinwänden, die sich vielfach erstmals "in bestem Licht" präsentieren, vollendet eine  Auswahl an subtilen Zeichnungen von u.a. Peter Hauenschild/Georg Ritter, Uli Aigner und Tobias Pils die informative Reihe dieser großen Sammlungspräsentation.

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)