Page start

Content
Work by Antoni Tàpies: Les Haricots

Black & White

7 June to 26 August 2007


On the Phenomenon of the Line

"You noted, one does not write light on a dark ground, only the alphabet of the stars appears like that, sketch-like or refracting; the human being carries on with black on white." (Stéphane Mallarmé)

"The drawing can be understood as a place for signs, through which we depict the world, and at the same time as the primary sign of being. The drawing is thus not a window to the world, but rather an instrument for comprehending our place in the universe." (Walter Benjamin)

The drawing continues to assert its position in the art of the 20th and 21st century in various forms: as a draft, a sketch, a construction plan, as an autonomous position of linear art, as a means for directly transferring thoughts to paper, as a means of insight, as a popular collection item or as a affordable original by a great artist. In the drawing the line has a revealing, recording and illustrating function. Its fundamental disposition as a medium is a fundamental problem complex of the figure. A surface is marked "black" on "white" or vice versa.

One aspect of the exhibition is to trace the line in the metaphysical dimension of its possible genesis. Is the act of drawing, according to Georg Witte, a moment of filling, in which empty surfaces are labeled, or is it a moment of blacking in, whereby lines are traced that are already contained in the white ground itself?

Catalogue "black & white", € 9,-
Curator: Dr. Brigitte Reutner

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Bild von Antoni Tàpies: Les Haricots

Black & White

7.6. bis 26.8.2007

Das Phänomen der Linie

"Du bemerktest, man schreibt nicht licht auf dunklem Grund, das Alphabet der Gestirne allein zeichnet so sich ab, skizzenhaft oder abbrechend; der Mensch fährt fort schwarz auf weiss" (Stéphane Mallarmé)

"Die Zeichnung kann als Ort für Zeichen verstanden werden, über die wir die Welt abbilden, und zugleich als das primäre Zeichen des Seins. Die Zeichnung ist daher kein Fenster zur Welt, sondern ein Instrument um unseren Ort im Universum zu begreifen." (Walter Benjamin)

Kontinuierlich behauptet die Zeichnung ihren Stellenwert in der Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts in unterschiedlichen Formen: als Entwurf, als Skizze, als Konstruktionszeichnung, als autonome Position linearer Kunst, als Mittel der unmittelbaren Übertragung der Gedanken auf Papier, als Mittel zur Erkenntnis, als beliebtes Sammlerstück oder als erschwingliches Original eines/einer großen KünstlerIn. Die Linie hat in der Zeichnung eine Offenbarungs-, Aufzeichungs- und Veranschaulichungsfunktion. Ihre mediale Grunddisposition ist eine Figur-Grundproblematik. Es wird eine Fläche "schwarz" auf "weiss" markiert oder umgekehrt.

Ein Aspekt der Ausstellung ist, der Linie in der metaphysischen Dimension ihrer möglichen Genese nachzuspüren. Handelt es sich beim Zeichenakt, Georg Witte zufolge, um ein Moment der Füllung, bei der eine leere Fläche beschriftet wird oder um ein Moment der Einschwärzung, wonach Linien nachgezogen werden, die im weißen Grund selbst schon enthalten sind?

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Grafikkatalog mit dem Titel "black & white", € 9,-

Kuratorin der Ausstellung: Dr. Brigitte Reutner

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)