Page start

Content
work by futuresystems : rare momente

futuresystems : Rare Moments

17 March to 10 June 2007


Dreaming the Future in the Present.

The exhibition shows installations by seven international artists, some of whom are presented for the first time in Austria. Born between Argentina and Denmark, between 1957 and 1978, they represent a globally operating generation of art producers gaining strong recognition and influence through their presence at biennials, art fairs and the major exhibition venues.

The two juxtaposed terms of the title open up the space between the poles of the reflexive and the emotional experience of art. futuresystems – the view into the future, perspectives and planning – what could the world look like in the future, which options for action will people have?
Rare Moments – the here and now, presence, exceptional moments, intensities, which art makes possible.

futuresystems : rare moments takes the idea of possible or alternative worlds as its starting point. It deals with a call to risk taking a look at visions – at how life could be, at the future in the present.
The artists of the exhibition do not only ask how we can or could experience reality, they also experiment with visions of future possibilities ... and dare to dream the future in the present. The exhibition relies on a renewed faith in the power of artistic work that is able to generate unique experiences, images and ideas.

futuresystems : rare moments makes use of the fact that reality is always incomplete.
The exhibition does not limit itself to depicting or critically commenting on reality, but instead orchestrates visual and communicative intensities that can be taken as promises of something new.

The intensity of futuresystems : rare moments is based on what could be called astonishing doppelgängers, speculative visions and experimental situations, unconventional, uncanny, unexpected enough to surprise, enchant, entice and captivate the viewers and challenge them to leave their normative standpoints and open up at least the suggestion of a space of dreaming.
Surprising doppelgängers of realities can be described as forthright, beautiful, poetic, moving, magical, idiosyncratic, evocative.
The surprising doppelgängers undermine the authority of language. They communicate by means of unique poetry, in dialogues of desire and anticipation.

Céleste Boursier-Mougenot (FR)
Carolina Caycedo (GB) & coparticipants
Olafur Eliasson (DK)
Leandro Erlich (ARG)
Michael Kienzer (A)
Job Koelwijn (NL)
Martin Walde (A)

Kuratorin/Creativ Coordinator: Maia Damianovic (GB)

Sponsor list:
CulturesFrance, Französisches Kulturinsitut, Mondriaan Foundation, ATEC, bauMax AG, Gibson, LIKE MIRROR, Marshall, RioTinto, VITRA GmbH

The exhibition is supported by the Culture 2000 programme of the European Union as part of Translate (translate.eipcp.net)

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Bild von futuresystems : rare momente

futuresystems : rare momente

17.3. bis 10.6.2007

Die Zukunft in der Gegenwart träumen.

Die Ausstellung zeigt Installationen von sieben internationalen KünstlerInnen, von denen einige zum ersten Mal in Österreich vorgestellt werden. Geboren zwischen Argentinien und Dänemark, zwischen 1957 und 1978, repräsentieren sie eine global agierende Generation der Kunstschaffenden, die durch ihre Präsenz auf Biennalen, Kunstmessen und in den großen Ausstellungshäusern starke Beachtung und Einfluss gewinnt.

Die beiden einander gegenüber gestellten Begriffe des Titels spannen den Raum zwischen den Polen reflexiver und emotionaler Kunsterfahrung auf. futuresystems - der Blick in die Zukunft, Perspektive und Planung - wie könnte die Welt in Zukunft aussehen, welche Handlungsoptionen werden sich den Menschen eröffnen?
Rare Momente - das Hier und Jetzt, Gegenwärtigkeit, Ausnahmemomente, Intensitäten, welche die Kunst ermöglicht.

futuresystems : rare momente nimmt die Idee möglicher oder alternativer Welten als Ausgangspunkt. Es handelt sich um eine Aufforderung, einen Blick auf Visionen zu riskieren - darauf, wie das Leben sein könnte, auf die Zukunft in der Gegenwart.
Die KünstlerInnen der Ausstellung fragen nicht nur, wie wir Realität erfahren können oder könnten, sondern experimentieren mit Visionen zukünftiger Möglichkeiten … und wagen es, die Zukunft in der Gegenwart zu träumen. Die Ausstellung setzt auf einen erneuerten Glauben an die Kraft künstlerischer Arbeit, die einzigartige Erfahrungen, Bilder und Vorstellungen erzeugen kann.

futuresystems : rare momente nützt die Tatsache, dass die Realität stets unvollständig ist.
Die Ausstellung beschränkt sich nicht darauf, die Realität abzubilden oder kritisch zu kommentieren, sondern orchestriert visuelle und kommunikative Intensitäten, die als Versprechen auf Neues aufgefasst werden können.

Die Intensität von futuresystems : rare momente basiert darauf, was man mit dem Begriff erstaunliche Doppelgänger bezeichnen könnte, spekulative Visionen und experimentelle Situationen, unkonventionell, unheimlich, unerwartet genug, um die BetrachterInnen zu überraschen, zu bezaubern, zu verführen, zu fesseln und aufzufordern, ihre normativen Standpunkte zu verlassen und zumindest andeutungsweise einen Raum des Träumens zu eröffnen.
Erstaunliche Doppelgänger von Realitäten können als freimütig, schön, poetisch, bewegend, magisch, idiosynkratisch, evokativ beschrieben werden.
Die erstaunlichen Doppelgänger untergraben die Autorität der Sprache. Sie kommunizieren mittels einzigartiger Poetik, in Dialogen von Sehnsucht und Erwartung.

Céleste Boursier-Mougenot (FR)
Carolina Caycedo (GB) & Mitwirkende
Olafur Eliasson (DK)
Leandro Erlich (ARG)
Michael Kienzer (A)
Job Koelewijn (NL)
Martin Walde (A)

Kuratorin/Creative Coordinator: Maia Damianovic (GB)

Sponsorenliste:
CulturesFrance, Französisches Kulturinsitut, Mondriaan Foundation, ATEC, bauMax AG, Gibson, LIKE MIRROR, Marshall, RioTinto, VITRA GmbH

Das Projekt findet im Rahmen von transform.eipcp.net und mit der Unterstützung des Kultur 2000 Programms der Europäischen Union statt.
http://www.maiadamianovic.com/

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)