Page start

Content
Work by Studio Daniel Libeskind: Rendering of Gallery

Museums of the 21st Century: Ideas, Projects, Buildings

24 November 2006 to 18 February 2007


27 Museums on 4 Continents in 2 Hours!

It seems that museums have taken over the job of landmarks that cathedrals used to have. They are regarded as symbols of cultural identification in a society that currently finds itself in a state of insecurity, due not least of all to increasing globalization. The most spectacular museum buildings enhance the attractiveness of cities, shift remote places to the center of public attention with their conspicuous presence.

As the only stop in Austria for an international tour, the Lentos Art Museum presents an exhibition of 21st century museum architecture. 27 projects from four continents offer a cross-section of the most interesting museum buildings that have been built, are being built, or in planning. The models include not only art museums, but also museums for cars, such as the Mercedes Benz Museum in Stuttgart. Plans are presented that arrive at very different solutions through the use of individual formal means. The expressive formal language of Frank O. Gehry or Coop Himmelb(l)au, for instance, is juxtaposed with the clarity and homogeneity of Tadao Ando's manner of building.
The selected architects include Peter Cook/Colin Fournier, Annette Gigon/Mike Guyer, Zaha Hadid, Steven Holl, Kisho Kurokawa, Daniel Libeskind, Jean Nouvel, UN Studio and Renzo Piano. Models, plans and sketches are exhibited in an unconventional presentation by the Caramel architects.
The exhibition will be supplemented by a presentation of the situation of museum projects in Linz in the 21st century: Lentos Art Museum, expansion of the AEC, and the new construction of the south wing of the Linz Castle. Architecture books from the Lentos library and films on the exhibited projects and about architects additionally offer more in-depth information.

An ART CENTRE BASEL exhibition: Suzanne Greub and Thierry Greub (Idea and Concept), Christine Gisi (Realisation), www.artcentrebasel.com

Opening: 23 November, 2006, 7 p.m.

This project is sponsered by Etermit, Fabasoft and afo.

Share: publish on Facebook (opens new window) publish on Twitter (opens new window) publish on Google Plus (opens new window) publish on Digg in (opens new window)
background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Inhalt:
Bild von Studio Daniel Libeskind: Rendering of Gallery

Museen im 21. Jahrhundert: Ideen, Projekte, Bauten

24. November 2006 - 18. Februar 2007

In 2 Stunden auf 4 Kontinenten in 27 Museen!

Museen scheinen die Aufgabe von Wahrzeichen übernommen zu haben, die früher Kathedralen zukam. Sie gelten als kulturelle Identifikationssymbole in einer Gesellschaft, die sich nicht zuletzt durch die fortschreitende Globalisierung in einer Phase der Verunsicherung befindet. Spektakulärste Museumsbauten steigern die Attraktivität der Städte, rücken abseits liegende Orte durch ihre augenfällige Präsenz ins öffentliche Bewußtsein.

Das Lentos Kunstmuseum zeigt als einzige österreichische Station einer internationalen Tournee eine Ausstellung zur Museumsarchitektur des 21. Jahrhunderts. 27 Projekte aus vier Kontinenten bieten einen Querschnitt der interessantesten Museumsbauten, die entstanden, entstehen oder geplant sind. Bei den Modellen handelt es sich nicht nur um Kunstmuseen, es werden auch Museen für Automobile gezeigt, wie etwa das Mercedes Benz Museum in Stuttgart. Vorgestellt werden Vorhaben, die durch den Einsatz ihrer individuellen formalen Mittel zu ganz unterschiedlichen Lösungen kommen: So steht der expressiven Formensprache beispielsweise eines Frank O. Gehry oder der Coop Himmelb(l)au die Klarheit und Homogenität der Bauweise von Tadao Ando gegenüber.
Zu den ausgewählten Architekten gehören unter anderem Peter Cook/Colin Fournier, Annette Gigon/Mike Guyer, Zaha Hadid, Steven Holl, Kisho Kurokawa, Daniel Libeskind, Jean Nouvel, UN Studio und Renzo Piano. In einer unkonventionellen Präsentation der Caramel Architekten werden Modelle, Pläne und Skizzen ausgestellt.
Ergänzend zur Ausstellung wird die Situation der Linzer Museumsprojekte im 21. Jahrhundert gezeigt: Lentos Kunstmuseum, Erweiterung des AEC und Neubau des Südflügels des Linzer Schlosses. Architekturbücher aus der Lentos Bibliothek sowie Filme zu den ausgestellten Projekten und über ArchitektInnen laden zur vertiefenden Information ein.

Eine Ausstellung des ART CENTRE BASEL: Suzanne Greub und Thierry Greub  (Idee und Konzept), Christine Gisi  (Realisation), http://www.artcentrebasel.com/

Ausstellungseröffnung: 23. November 2006, 19 Uhr.

Dieses Projekt wurde realisiert mit der Unterstützung von

 

  

Teilen: auf Facebook veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Twitter veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Google Plus veröffentlichen (neues Fenster) auf Digg veröffentlichen (neues Fenster)
background image:

Foto: © maschekS.