Page start

Transformation and Recurrence
Reflections on Radical Nationalisms in Contemporary Art

24 March to 6 June 2021

In parallel with the continuity of extremist rightwing political ideas there is an afterlife of the repeated representation of fascism in art and literature and an appropriation of its aesthetic set pieces in popular culture and (transgressive) subculture. This exhibition pulls together a great number of works and strategies that address this phenomenon, ranging from appropriation and mimetic subversion to the analytic contemplation, re-staging and deconstruction of fascistoid mechanisms.

The re-enactment of traumatic and/or threatening constellations in a fictitious form may function as an attempt to gain control of them by redefining their frame of reference. This appropriation creates a space for the negotiation of topics whose ambivalence oscillates between fascination and revulsion. Last of all, the exhibition is designed to cast light on the question of what artistic strategies are capable to visualize current totalitarian, extreme right-wing developements.

Curators: Markus Proschek, Hemma Schmutz

Artists

Monica Bonvicini, Keren Cytter, Martin Dammann, Ines Doujak, Riccardo Giacconi, Erez Israeli, Franz Kapfer, Laibach, Annika Larsson, Henrike Naumann, Markus Proschek, Roee Rosen, Dennis Rudolph, Christina Werner

Online

Immerse: Lentos Podcast
from Thu 25.3.

with curator Markus Proschek
The new podcast series deals intensively with the theme of the exhibition and its contemporary references. Further podcasts with other experts on the topic of radical nationalism, its symbols and its effects from: 27.4., 18.5., 1.6.

Webinar: Right-wing actions and their images
Thu 8.4. 18.00

Prof. Klaus Schönberger (Director of the Institute for Cultural Analysis at the Alps-Adriatic University Klagenfurt / Celovec) discusses the possibility of disempowering racist and radical nationalist symbol production.
Registration at webinar@lentos.at, all participants will receive the link to the Zoom conference shortly before the event.

MemAct!: Kick-off Conference
Tue/Wed 20.4.

Online conference and workshops of the MemAct! project on linking the mediation of the history of National Socialism with contemporary racism and right-wing extremism. For mediators in museums, memorial sites, schools and in the field of recreational education and counseling.
Keynotes: Agnieszka Pasieka, cultural anthropologist with research focus on contemporary radical nationalism in Europe, and more.
Program coming soon: memact.eu
MemAct: Memory, Agency and the Act of Civic Responsibility. Developing activating methods in Holocaust Education through arts, space a media is funded by the Europe for Citizens Program and coordinated by the Art Education Department of the Museums of the City of Linz.

Events & Guided Tours

Due to current security regulations, guided tours, workshops and events cannot take place at the moment. You will receive various informational materials about the current exhibitions on site.

You can find our detailed guidelines for visiting the museum here

background image:

Photo: © maschekS.

Seitenanfang

Untermenü:

Transformation und Wiederkehr
Radikale Nationalismen im Spiegel der zeitgenössischen Kunst

24.3.–6.6.2021

Parallel zur Kontinuität rechtsextremer politischer Ideen existiert ein Nachleben der wiederholten Repräsentation des Faschismus in Kunst und Literatur, sowie eine Aneignung seiner ästhetischen Versatzstücke in Populär- und (transgressiver) Subkultur. Die Ausstellung versammelt künstlerische Positionen und Strategien einer Auseinandersetzung mit diesen Phänomenen. Sie reichen von Aneignung und mimetischer Subversion bis hin zur analytischen Betrachtung, Re-inszenierung und Dekonstruktion faschistoider Mechanismen.

Die Wiederholung traumatischer und bedrohlicher Sachverhalte in fiktiver Form kann ein Versuch sein, Kontrolle über diese zu erlangen, indem ihr Bezugsrahmen selbst neu bestimmt wird. Diese Aneignung schafft Raum, Themen zu verhandeln, deren Ambivalenz zwischen Faszination und Abstoßung changiert. Schlussendlich soll diese Ausstellung auch einen Blick darauf werfen, welche künstlerischen Strategien dazu geeignet sind, aktuelle totalitäre und rechtsextreme Entwicklungen zu visualisieren.

KuratorInnen: Markus Proschek, Hemma Schmutz

KünstlerInnen

Monica Bonvicini, Keren Cytter, Martin Dammann, Ines Doujak, Riccardo Giacconi, Erez Israeli, Franz Kapfer, Laibach, Annika Larsson, Henrike Naumann, Markus Proschek, Roee Rosen, Dennis Rudolph, Christina Werner

Programm

Let’s talk about it - Reden wir darüber
ab Donnerstag 15.04 wöchentlich, 16:30-18:30 Uhr

Da wir Corona-bedingt keine Führungen oder Gesprächsrunden machen können, bieten wir am Donnerstagabend die Möglichkeit sich mit Karin Schneider, Leiterin der Kunstvermittlung, in einem Einzelgespräch auszutauschen und zu den Themen der Ausstellung zu diskutieren. Bitte melden Sie sich dafür einfach an der Kassa.

Sie können Ihre Fragen auch nach einem Ausstellungsbesuch direkt unter karin.schneider@lentos.at an Karin Schneider richten.

Online

Eintauchen: Lentos Podcast
Die neue Podcast-Serie setzt sich intensiv mit dem Thema der Ausstellung und ihren Gegenwartsbezügen auseinander. Weitere Podcasts mit anderen ExpertInnen zum Thema radikaler Nationalismus, seine Symbole und seine Auswirkungen.
Alle Folgen gibt's hier

Webinar: Rechte Aktionen und ihre Bilder
Do 8.4. 18.00 Uhr
Prof. Klaus Schönberger (Vorstand des Institutes für Kulturanalyse der Alpen-Adria Universität Klagenfurt / Celovec) diskutiert über die Möglichkeit der Entmachtung rassistischer und radikal nationalistischer Symbolproduktion.
Anmeldung unter webinar@lentos.at, alle TeilnehmerInnen erhalten den Link zur Zoom-Konferenz kurz für der Veranstaltung
Mehr zum Lentos Webinar

MemAct!: Auftakt-Konferenz
Di/Mi 20./21.4.

Online Konferenz und Workshops des Projekts MemAct! zur Verbindung von Vermittlung der Geschichte des Nationalsozialismus mit heutigem Rassismus und Rechtsextremismus. Für VermittlerInnen in Museen, Gedenkstätten, Schulen und im Bereich der Freizeitpädagogik und Beratung.
Keynotes: Agnieszka Pasieka, Kulturanthropologin mit Forschungsschwerpunkt zu gegenwärtigem radikalen Nationalismus in Europa, u. v. m.
Programm in Kürze auf: memact.eu
MemAct! Memory, Agency and the Act of Civic Responsibility. Developing activating methods in Holocaust Education through arts, space and media wird von dem Europe for Citizens Programme gefördert und von der Kunstvermittlung der Museen der Stadt Linz koordiniert.

Veranstaltungen & Führungen

Aufgrund der aktuellen Sicherheitsbestimmungen können derzeit keine Führungen, Workshops und Veranstaltungen stattfinden. Sie erhalten vor Ort verschiedene Informationsmaterialien zu den aktuellen Ausstellungen.

Unsere ausführlichen Richtlinien für den Museumsbesuch finden Sie hier

background image:

Foto: © maschekS.