Skip to content

Egon Schiele, Double Portrait of Heinrich and Otto Benesch, 1913

Oil on canvas, 121 x 130 cm

Collection Lentos Art Museum Linz, Inv. Nr. 12


The 1913 Doppelbildnis Heinrich und Otto Benesch [Double Portrait of Heinrich and Otto Benesch]”, one of the chief works of Expressionism in Austria, is Schiele’s psychologising study of two men he knew well, Heinrich Benesch, a paternal friend from 1908 onward, a loyal Schiele collector and Chief Inspector of the k. and k. Railways, and his son Otto Benesch, then 17, who was to become an art historian and a long serving director of the Albertina, where he was in charge, among other things, of putting together the museum’s Schiele collection. 

That the Beneschs were enthusiastic supporters of Schiele’s art, which was considered highly controversial at the time, is plainly in evidence in several letters. The elder Benesch, for example, who frequently tided Schiele over with small amounts of money and who was the only one to visit Schiele when the latter was in prison for a few days in 1910 wrote:

“… there is one thing, lieber Herr Schiele, I would urge you to abstain from: do not throw any of your sketches, whatever they may represent, even the most unassuming trifles, into the fireplace. Please write the following equation on your fireplace: Ofen=Benesch’ [fireplace=Benesch]…”

On 18 March 1913, shortly before the double portrait finally took shape, Benesch wrote to Schiele: 

“… You have twice promised to draw me but to date you have not honoured that promise. You have performed that labour of love for all friends of your art bar me. What have I done to deserve thus being singled out? Am I not worthy of your attention? What motivates me in this matter is the wish to have a visible token of your sympathy, not the wish to have a portrait of myself. That I need to remind you of your promise of course means that you have spoilt in advance part of the pleasure the portrait would give me. It is indeed bitter to be treated by a friend as a quantité negligeable…”

In the final version of the portrait, father and son confront one another in isolation with averted gaze. In the foreground, the apparently dominant father, seen from behind, seems to consign his son to the background with his extended left arm. As is evident from several sketches, Schiele introduced changes to his original plan as he went about to realise it – Heinrich Benesch’s left arm hanging limply from the shoulder is still clearly visible.
This formal intervention brought about a fundamental reshuffle of the entire pictorial composition: the extended arm, assuming the function of a barricade, enhances the tension between father and son while at the same time serving as the only link connecting the two figures. Heinrich Benesch is depicted as an energetic, hands-on person, willing to ward off the observer’s visual intrusion from his shy, reclusive son. The subjects’ forced facial expression and their body language – the father’s hectic movement and the ostensibly introverted son with his clenched hands – hint at a generation gap. Overstretching proportions and exaggerating colours both serve to unmask the subjects. Physical deformation makes states of the psyche – suffering, depression, arousal – visible.
The image composition is clear. It is tectonically structured and dominated by predominantly vertical axes. An extremely economical colour scheme corresponds to the austere drawing. Alongside dominant tones of green, beige, and grey, loud orange-red highlights provide expressive contrasts. The transparent paint application and the angular, jagged lines are reminiscent of the Cubist formal vocabulary.
Dispensing with spatial depth and all decorative details, the painting stuns with its austerity and asceticism. The artist’s psychological approach and the expressive means he deploys bring the subjects’ mental condition and their inner life to the fore.
Schiele the artist is here seen following in the footsteps of Sigmund Freud, whose psychoanalysis, which was taking shape at that time in Vienna, revolutionised our views about the workings of the psyche. 


This website uses cookies. Learn more

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Egon Schiele, Doppelbildnis Heinrich und Otto Benesch, 1913

Öl auf Lein­wand, 121 x 130 cm

Samm­lung Lentos Kunst­mu­se­um Linz, Inv. Nr. 12


Das 1913 ent­stan­de­ne Dop­pel­bild­nis Hein­rich und Otto Ben­esch” zählt zu den Haupt­wer­ken des öster­rei­chi­schen Expres­sio­nis­mus. Das psy­cho­lo­gi­sie­ren­de Gemäl­de stellt zwei Bekann­te des Künst­lers dar: Hein­rich Ben­esch, väter­li­cher Freund seit 1908, treu­er Schie­le-Samm­ler, Zen­tral­inspek­tor bei der k.u.k. Eisen­bahn, sowie sei­nen damals 17 jäh­ri­gen Sohn Otto Bensch, der sich als Kunst­his­to­ri­ker und lang­jäh­ri­ger Alber­ti­na Direk­tor Haupt­ver­diens­te für den spä­te­ren Auf­bau der Schie­le-Samm­lung in der Alber­ti­na erwor­ben hat.

Die Begeis­te­rung der Fami­lie Ben­esch für Schie­les damals umstrit­te­nes Werk äußert sich in zahl­rei­chen Kor­re­spon­den­zen. So schreibt Ben­esch, der Schie­le stets mit klei­nen Geld­be­trä­gen aus­hilft und ihn als ein­zi­ger Freund im Gefäng­nis besucht, im Jahr 1910:

”… um eines bit­te ich Sie noch, lie­ber Herr Schie­le, ste­cken Sie von Ihren Skiz­zen, was immer es sein möge, auch von den kleins­ten unschein­ba­ren Sachen, nichts in den Ofen. Bit­te schrei­ben Sie auf Ihren Ofen fol­gen­de Glei­chung: Ofen=Benesch”…“

Am 18. März 1913, kurz vor der Ent­ste­hung des Dop­pel­bild­nis­ses, ver­fasst Ben­esch fol­gen­de Zei­len:

”… Sie haben mir zwar schon zwei­mal ver­spro­chen, mich zu zeich­nen, aber Ihr Ver­spre­chen bis­her … nicht ein­ge­löst. Allen Ihren Kunst­freun­den haben Sie die­sen Lie­bes­dienst erwie­sen, nur mir nicht. Womit habe ich es ver­dient, daß Sie gera­de mich aus­schlie­ßen? Bin ich Ihnen die­se Auf­merk­sam­keit nicht wert? Es ist mir dabei doch nur dar­um zu tun, ein sicht­ba­res Zei­chen Ihrer Sym­pa­thie zu besit­zen und nicht etwa dar­um, ein Por­trait von mir zu haben. Frei­lich haben Sie mir die Freu­de dar­an zum Teil schon dadurch ver­dor­ben, daß ich Sie an Ihr Ver­spre­chen erin­nern muß. Es ist bit­ter, von einem Freun­de als quan­ti­té negli­ge­ab­le behan­delt zu wer­den …”

In der end­gül­ti­gen Fas­sung ste­hen Vater und Sohn, jeder für sich iso­liert, mit abge­wand­tem Blick ein­an­der gegen­über. Der domi­nant wir­ken­de Vater in Rücken­an­sicht im Vor­der­grund drängt sei­nen Sohn mit der aus­grei­fen­den lin­ken Hand in den Hin­ter­grund. Wie meh­re­re Skiz­zen bele­gen, ändert Schie­le erst wäh­rend des Mal­vor­gan­ges sein ursprüng­li­ches Kon­zept (der lin­ke her­ab­ge­sun­ke­ne Arm von Hein­rich Ben­esch ist noch sicht­bar).
Die for­ma­le Neue­rung bewirkt eine Ver­än­de­rung der gesam­ten Bild­kom­po­si­ti­on: der aus­ge­streck­te Arm, der wie eine Bar­ri­ka­de wirkt, ver­stärkt das Span­nungs­ver­hält­nis zwi­schen Vater und Sohn, zugleich stellt er die ein­zi­ge Ver­bin­dung zwi­schen den bei­den Gestal­ten her. Hein­rich Ben­esch wird als zupa­cken­de Per­sön­lich­keit geschil­dert, er scheint sei­nen schüch­tern und ver­schlos­sen wir­ken­den Sohn vor den visu­el­len Zugrif­fen des Betrach­ters zu schüt­zen. Der über­stei­ger­te Gesichts­aus­druck bei den Por­trä­tier­ten und ihre Kör­per­spra­che – der Vater in aus­ufern­der hek­ti­scher Bewe­gung, der intro­ver­tiert wir­ken­de Sohn mit ver­krampf­ten Hän­den – las­sen einen Genera­ti­ons­kon­flikt erah­nen. Durch Über­deh­nung der Pro­por­tio­nen und Über­stei­ge­rung der Far­ben wer­den die Dar­ge­stell­ten demas­kiert, durch Defor­ma­ti­on des Phy­si­schen wer­den psy­chi­sche Zustän­de – Leid, Depres­si­on, Erregt­heit – erfahr­bar.
Der Bild­auf­bau ist klar, tek­to­nisch geglie­dert und von vor­wie­gend ver­ti­ka­len Ach­sen domi­niert. Der har­ten, sprö­den Zeich­nung ent­spricht die extrem spar­sa­me Farb­ge­bung. Neben vor­herr­schen­den Grün‑, Beige- und Grau­tö­nen bil­den grel­le Oran­ge-Rot-Akzen­te expres­si­ve Kon­tras­te. Der durch­schei­nen­de Farb­auf­trag und die ecki­ge, spit­ze Lini­en­füh­rung erin­nern an kubis­ti­sches For­men­vo­ka­bu­lar.
Der Gesamt­ein­druck des Gemäl­des ist u.a. durch den Ver­zicht von Raum und schmü­cken­dem Bei­werk herb und aske­tisch. In groß­ar­ti­ger psy­cho­lo­gi­sie­ren­der Wei­se wird die see­li­sche Befind­lich­keit, das Innen­le­ben der Dar­ge­stell­ten mit expres­si­ven Mit­teln zum Aus­druck gebracht.
Schie­le nähert sich auf künst­le­ri­sche Wei­se den wis­sen­schaft­li­chen Erkennt­nis­sen der Psy­cho­ana­ly­se von Sieg­mund Freud, der gleich­zei­tig in Wien begon­nen hat­te See­len­zu­stän­de zu erfor­schen.

E. Nowak-Thal­ler

Diese Website verwendet Cookies um das Nutzererlebnis zu verbessern. Mehr dazu